We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great environment, great bartenders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub

McGuire's Irish Pub
33 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
(850) 650-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great environment, great bartenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place is a Destin must see for a reason. The environment was incredible, the bartenders, Harvey and Anthony, were very social and did a great job, our server, Judy, was very sweet and took great care of our 23 person party. The hostess, didn't get her name- blonde with hook nose, had a pretty nasty attitude though. It wasn't even busy yet, so I was fairly taken aback. I definitely wouldn't let her be the first impression for my restaurant.

I would get here early if you plan to go. The place seats 800, but it is constantly packed. Lots of hustle and bustle and good energy. Food was pretty good, but it isn't the main attraction. I would definitely return for dinner. Note- They do not take reservations. If you saw how busy it got, you'd understand why they can't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    536
    140
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Irish Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The atmosphere at McGuire's is relaxed and funloving. My friend and I sat at the bar upstairs since there was a 20 min wait on a table, and there were just the two of us. The bartender, Andrea, served us. She got our order in quickly and served with a smile. The bar overlooks the harbor and the nighttime crowd was nice. The live band played some soulful hits and had a pretty talented harmonica player who was breakin' it down. Okay, the potato skins were awesome! Yummy gouda and bacon on top, and not soggy at all. The German beer they had on tap that night washed them down nicely. Overall, great place to partay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food, atmosphere loud & chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Food was awesome, atmosphere/environment was loud, dark, chaotic.Kids were screaming/crying. It was not at all an enjoyable dinner environment.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmoefun
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great service, great atmosphere, good drinks ... So-so food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had awesome service and thought the atmosphere was great. The Irish wake drink was worth the $ and the souvenir cup was cool. I ordered the chicken rustica pasta and it was like an Applebee's pasta. Nothing to write home about. My husband had the lamb chops and said they were pretty good. If we go back we are gonna try burgers and pizza as that's what looked awesome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First, understand that this is a very loud, boisterous place. That's ok with us if the food and service is good, which it was. Service was friendly and fairly attentive considering how busy it was. Salad was mediocre, but our steaks were very good, apparently their specialty. Would definitely go back if we find ourselves back in Destin.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.