We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great fun and food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub

McGuire's Irish Pub
33 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
+1 850-650-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Always great fun and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I took our group of 11 here on our first nite in Destin this trip. The place was packed but we only had to wait 40 minutes. Just enough time to drink a Finnegans Wake. The portions are big, the bread delicious and the entrees all excellent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,718
    604
    149
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I see why McGuire's has been recommended to me by many people. Food was excellent, atmosphere was very fun and inviting, and the rooftop view of the water around Destin was very nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“July 3rd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We actually vacationed in Panama City Beach but on the suggestion of one of our friends, we traveled to Destin one evening to eat at McGuire's. We absolutely loved it!! This place was really neat and the food was AMAZING! It was pricey but we all agreed that it was the best food we've ever had, especially the steak. Loved the dollars that covered the walls and ceiling. It really made it a unique experience. We didn't regret making the trip to Destin just to eat here!
.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Number one most disgusting restaurant in the world.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Thousands of filthy dollar bills adorned every surface of this dark dingy dump. They say its for luck, when one considers the starving down trodden in the world, its enough to turn your stomach before the revolting food even reaches the table.
Four people in our party, four barely touched plates as I paid the $85 lunch bill. I would recommend using the steak knife provided to slit your throat before eating here. Because of my love for animals , doggy bags were offered and we all declined. The health department must be on the pad not to shut this dump down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first time here. We skipped it on our last trip because of the crowd, but we went early to beat the rush (about 5:00) and there was no wait. The food was not exceptional, but average for a tourist attraction. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive and the food came out quickly. Watch out for the restroom signs though. They are jokes and confused me when I was rushing my four year old to the bathroom in the dark hallway. I just saw a sign that said "MEN" in large print and entered. It was actually the women's room. Everyone just giggled and we moved on. I'm sure it happens several times a day. There is also a nice gift shop attached and my wife bought a t-shirt. We had a good experience and will likely return. However, it was approaching 7:00 when we finally left the gift shop and there was a line out to the parking lot, so go early.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.