We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub

McGuire's Irish Pub
33 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
(850) 650-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
golconda
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tired of fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you stay in Destin for a spell you may start to crave something that doesn't live in the sea. When you do give McGuire's a try. The smoked prime rib was excellent as was the sirloin. They also have an extensive selection of options for burgers. By the way they brew their own beer. The sampler of six is $5.00. It's about the equivalent of one beer.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    538
    140
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The restaurant was busy so we sat upstairs under the covered deck with music playing from the speakers and somebody playing live on the deck outside, both 2 complete different things. It was very loud and distracting. My husband ordered the seasonal beer she brought a hot half emptied glass and said that was the last of it but did bring a 2nd seasonal beer to replace it. It took forever for her to bring our waters. I ordered shepards pie which consisted of 90% mashed potatoes and he ordered a hamburger. The hamburger did not have the bacon on it he ordered and it was the worst hamburger I have ever had. Neither of us could eat it. Way over smoked with no real flavor. We have eaten at the one in pensacola and it was good. We want ever eat at Destin one again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food but loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

the food was excellent but it was really dark and too loud. Our server took a really long time to just get our drink orders and we had to wait an hour to just get a table. Go here if you wanna wait a long time but our steaks were excellent and we tried the bean soup it was really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love this place! The most food for the $$. Loved the bean soup and potato boxtys!
Entree portions are large, we had to put half in to go boxes. The Rueben sandwich and the brewers sausage plates were excellent. Kids fish and chips plate was great. A lot of tables were having steaks and burgers. Cannot beat the fun atmosphere. Get there early, we arrived at 5 and had a 30 min wait. Extra parking behind the restaurant, and even a shuttle golf cart that gives you a ride to and from your car!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Calamari (Squid) and Sheps Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

They have great calamari. Sometimes it is the smaller ones cooked mostly whole, these are great. The only place I have ver had them cooked this well was in Japan. The next best things are a toss up. Sheps pie or the steak. I have to go with the Shepard's pie. Dang it is good!!! Ask for more carrots, at times they are stingy with those on the side.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.