We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losing its appeal?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub

McGuire's Irish Pub
33 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
(850) 650-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Losing its appeal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I don't know if they were just having an "off" night? Just seems like, this visit (out of our many!), wasn't as good as usual. The lighting is horrible, the music (bagpipes) is so loud...it makes it impossible to focus on the food, without having a seizure.

We used to love the Nachos - they're still huge but they don't have anything on them. Just some stuff, in the middle, and a gazillion plain chips.

I ordered the Prime Rib - it was mostly fat (yes, I understand the PR isn't a "lean" cut of meat) and chewy. Other items ordered...tuna, ribs, steak and french onion soup.

If McGuire's keeps this up, I might have to replace it with another restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    538
    140
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenol!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Food was absolutely delicious. Very generous portions. Great and friendly atmosphere and prompt service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Entertaining and once in a lifetime atmosphere. Dollars hanging from the ceiling and all around. The Bean soup was above average. It was early and it was not busy, but service was a little slow. If your not in a great hurry and like a fun loving environment you should definitely stop by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Reuben known to mankind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We took our visiting family - five adults, three children and a baby, to McGuire's, a rare Destin restaurant that welcomes large groups. We were immediately seated in a booth accommodating all nine of us. Kimberly, the server, couldn't have been more patient or courteous. It was a first visit for our family and everyone raved about the Reubens. Actually, all of the food on the menu is outstanding and portions are not spared. There is nighttime entertainment and the food is reasonably priced. This has become a favorite restaurant for us Locals and our Visitors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our third trip to Destin, and our first stop at this restaurant. We really liked the atmosphere of the place, dollars hanging everywhere, and neat gift shop. We did not have to wait long for the food. Everyone liked the food, and the portions were good sized. The cheeseburger I ordered seemed smaller than what was in their add, but it was good. Our waitress was great too. The prices are somewhat high, but that goes with the tourist territory. Overall it was a pretty good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.