We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub

McGuire's Irish Pub
33 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
+1 850-650-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Parking is a giant pain in the rear! Food was AMAZING! Wait was about 35-40 minutes but well worth it!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,721
    606
    149
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Recommended but a little Overhyped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had the Senate Bean Soup which was fantastic and we highly recommend it. The authentic Irish lamb stew was right on! The shepherd's pie was very plain but that may be traditional; we haven't had it before to know what a "good" shepherd's pie is. Unfortunately, the supreme nachos was a high pile of stale chips with 2 cups of diced, raw tomato and little else (yuck!)- they were mainly untouched. Also, their "Red" beer tasted like a bud light and their raspberry wheat beer was not very desirable. Our younger children had delicious popcorn shrimp and simple mac and cheese. The décor was very entertaining as well as the piano singer. We'd go back for the atmosphere and to try different things on the menu but keep in mind, this is a chain with a very large gift shop :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must Visit while in Destin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our second experience at McQuire's and they managed to outdo the first one. Went for lunch this time which I highly recommend. We had no wait at all compared to last time of over an hour. The kids love looking at the money hanging absolutely everywhere but the food is where it's at! Had the Beef and Mushroom Pie that was just absolutely incredible! Husband had the shepard's pie, couple of kids had enormous burgers. Great beer selection and homemade rootbeer for the nonalcohol drinkers. Get the 18 cent bean soup. Two reasons: Why not, it's only 18 cents? and it is really good bean soup. The waitress was very entertaining and was very attentive to all our needs. Thank for you a great time. Our funnest meal in Destin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Parking is a pain:( This is the only complaint that I have about this place, which is a good thing:)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bean Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I get a jar of the yummy bean soup to go. I am a local and stop by for a quick lunch. It is not quiet, and not intimate, but it is fun and noisy and good food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.