We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Access to Beach...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Destin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great Access to Beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family belongs to Wyndham Vacation Club and having stayed in a number of properties around the country this is one of the better ones. Check-in was a breeze and our room was on the 5th floor with an ocean view. We stayed in a two bedroom and could not be happier with how fresh, crisp, and updated the unit was (granite counters, tile throughout common areas, new furniture). The proximity to the beach across the street made traveling with our 11 month old and 4 year easy as we could go up to the room for naps or food. Our boys especially liked the pool area, but keep in mind there is no food/drink service. Get there early because the chairs are gone and it gets full, it was particularly packed due to Summer. I used the fitness room which had all I needed to my cardio workout, good to know if you like to exercise while away from home. In total we stayed for 5 days and would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Had a good time. Beach was nice, but the June grass in the water was bad. The tile floors were very dirty. Ask at the front desk for them to clean the floors and the never showed up. Finally after 2 days went and bought a mop to clean it my self. Did not like my 1 year old daughter with black feet form the room. Great location. Really wish they had beach carts to carry your stuff to and from the beach in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff is great we are owners and stayed in a one bedroom deluxe suite it was large enough for the four of us the location is on the beach no travel needed to get there but if you are not Wyndham owners do not buy into their scam you can rent these rooms cheaper than buying into it they make it sound awesome with their points and promises but there not I like the Wyndham properties but the ownership was a waste of money and the worst thing I could of purchases the nightmare with the company never ends and there's virtually no way to sell it pay to stay here but DO NOT BUY ITS A SCAM im an owner and I wish I wasn't but I would like to thank Scott at the front desk for being so nice

Room Tip: Get at least a one bedroom deluxe or two bedroom or it's uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My parents are timeshare owners here and this was our first visit to this location. It's not oceanfront, but oceanview. Standing on the balcony, you can see the bay to the left and the ocean to the right. There are 5-6 pools that we had access to but most of them are not walking distance from the resort. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There is no onsite resturant. The staff is VERY friendly and accomodating. The walk to the beach is about 100 yards which isn't bad at all. The only complaint I have is that the balconies are way too small. The balcony for a two bedroom, full kitchen suite was about 6 feet long and no more than 4 feet deep. You can barely fit 4 people on the balcony comfortably. Still, I would return here and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We own here and wanted to experience what it provided. Initially we were booked into a one bed room suite not knowing what that really mean, but found out it meant that we were spending our points on a Motel 6 size lockout suite unit with a page full of deficiencies - air conditioner burned up during the first night (actually) - miniture kitchen - no balcony - no in-room safe - garbage container had no lid, etc, etc. Their brochere states that there were numerous pools (8) and very limited on-property activities. The kitchenette is very, very small and sits directly part of the living space. Kitchen trash receptacle sits right next to sofa. There were one indoor and one outdoor and two hot tubs directly accessable to the residents, but they were very clean and well maintained. They were located in another tower/facility which meant you had to walk a bit to enjoy them. The locale and the beaches of this area are outstanding - most beautiful we have ever seen, and very white and clean. The beach was across the street - not too far. The maintenance teams for the facility were very skilled and responsive and in-checking individual was very friendly and understanding. Parking for the facility was free and covered and accessible to elevators and the rooms. Carts for moving suitcases and supplies were very handy. Adequate handicap parking slots (if not from Florida - bring your own 'Handicap' display card. It helps all over the area. After strong discussion with management we were provided significant and acceptable upgrade, but still found facility problems within replacement unit - safe broken/front door dead bolt lock broken/refrigerator ice maker very inadequate/slow. Would we stay owners and return - Yes, making sure that we were booked into a proper point equal unit. You definately need a car to enjoy the Destin area. It has a lot to offer including many restaurants, both local and chain types. The seafood restaurants in the area are many. Not many locale steak/pork items on menu's but we ae one the coast. A large supermarket is about a mile to the east from the resort. The whole resort had been recently refurbished and was very clean and housekeeping did a very noteworthy job on their end. The weather in April and during all winter months, can change quickly being very warm one day and chilly the next. Suggest at least 1 light sweatshirt or rain coat. Also, there is only one blanket provided in the facility - and thats part of the sleeper sofa bedding pack. It can get cold during this period - several added blankets in the unit during these winter months would be benificial. Shopping outlet in close area - about 1-1/2 miles.

Room Tip: If your only using rooms for sleep and changing clothes, the 1bedroom suite is OK for 4 people, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We own a timeshare here. We thought we were getting a two bedroom, which turned into a 1 bedroom (which meant I was on the couch bed). It was actually quite comfortable. We didn't have a balcony. I couldn't get the DVD player to work (I have the same TV). It was a short walk across the street to the beach---Our reason for coming. The room never matters as long as the beach is great. The hotel Staff was amazing. Gave us a great recommendation for brunch on Easter Sunday-- 790 on the Gulf---SO WONDERFUL. Can't say enough about the staff.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony room or a 2 bedroom. SUPER SMALL for any number above 2 in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in the owner's area of resort in a one bedroom unit, which was a little cramped. Small kitchen, but we came for the beach which was wonderful. Destin has to be the most beautiful beach that I've seen in the States. The resort had one indoor/outdoor heated pool which the kids loved, but it's mainly a resort for retirees.

Room Tip: The resort is across the street from the beach, so see if you can get a room that's beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Address: 77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.