We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner's First Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun
77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Destin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Owner's First Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We own here and wanted to experience what it provided. Initially we were booked into a one bed room suite not knowing what that really mean, but found out it meant that we were spending our points on a Motel 6 size lockout suite unit with a page full of deficiencies - air conditioner burned up during the first night (actually) - miniture kitchen - no balcony - no in-room safe - garbage container had no lid, etc, etc. Their brochere states that there were numerous pools (8) and very limited on-property activities. The kitchenette is very, very small and sits directly part of the living space. Kitchen trash receptacle sits right next to sofa. There were one indoor and one outdoor and two hot tubs directly accessable to the residents, but they were very clean and well maintained. They were located in another tower/facility which meant you had to walk a bit to enjoy them. The locale and the beaches of this area are outstanding - most beautiful we have ever seen, and very white and clean. The beach was across the street - not too far. The maintenance teams for the facility were very skilled and responsive and in-checking individual was very friendly and understanding. Parking for the facility was free and covered and accessible to elevators and the rooms. Carts for moving suitcases and supplies were very handy. Adequate handicap parking slots (if not from Florida - bring your own 'Handicap' display card. It helps all over the area. After strong discussion with management we were provided significant and acceptable upgrade, but still found facility problems within replacement unit - safe broken/front door dead bolt lock broken/refrigerator ice maker very inadequate/slow. Would we stay owners and return - Yes, making sure that we were booked into a proper point equal unit. You definately need a car to enjoy the Destin area. It has a lot to offer including many restaurants, both local and chain types. The seafood restaurants in the area are many. Not many locale steak/pork items on menu's but we ae one the coast. A large supermarket is about a mile to the east from the resort. The whole resort had been recently refurbished and was very clean and housekeeping did a very noteworthy job on their end. The weather in April and during all winter months, can change quickly being very warm one day and chilly the next. Suggest at least 1 light sweatshirt or rain coat. Also, there is only one blanket provided in the facility - and thats part of the sleeper sofa bedding pack. It can get cold during this period - several added blankets in the unit during these winter months would be benificial. Shopping outlet in close area - about 1-1/2 miles.

Room Tip: If your only using rooms for sleep and changing clothes, the 1bedroom suite is OK for 4 people, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We own a timeshare here. We thought we were getting a two bedroom, which turned into a 1 bedroom (which meant I was on the couch bed). It was actually quite comfortable. We didn't have a balcony. I couldn't get the DVD player to work (I have the same TV). It was a short walk across the street to the beach---Our reason for coming. The room never matters as long as the beach is great. The hotel Staff was amazing. Gave us a great recommendation for brunch on Easter Sunday-- 790 on the Gulf---SO WONDERFUL. Can't say enough about the staff.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony room or a 2 bedroom. SUPER SMALL for any number above 2 in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in the owner's area of resort in a one bedroom unit, which was a little cramped. Small kitchen, but we came for the beach which was wonderful. Destin has to be the most beautiful beach that I've seen in the States. The resort had one indoor/outdoor heated pool which the kids loved, but it's mainly a resort for retirees.

Room Tip: The resort is across the street from the beach, so see if you can get a room that's beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondave22
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed with some friends as part of a Wyndham package over New Years' weekend. Got a 2 bedroom with the lock out unit, unit very clean upon entering. Two of the ceiling lights were hanging off the fixtures, and the one toilet seat was loose. Called down to desk and a maintenance man was at our door within 10 minutes, replaced lights and tightened seat. Very prompt and courteous.

Units have been updated, as it is an older building. Decent job overall, but could have spent a little more and replaced all the trim and door jambs. Covered a multitude of sins with caulk... Bed was very comfortable, rooms seemed quiet.

Pool area was very nice inside and out, but seemed small for the size of the property. Beach would be the place to be, if it hadn't been so cool. Don't expect a 5 star place, but overall had a pleasant experience here, and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel resort is very nice. Is clean, and we didn't have any of the noise talked about before.
Close to some very good restaurants - Rick's Crab Trap and Cabaña Café ( great pizza ) are within walking distance, Pompano Joe's and Captain Dave's a sort ride.
The beautiful white sand beach is right across the street and almost all the rooms have a great view of the gulf waters.
Silver Sand outlet mall is a short ride away. If you go don't miss the HarborWalk, go down late afternoon and watch the boats bring in their fish catch, have a drink at Harry T's and dinner at Marina Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This place is under renovations during Nov-Dec to get ready for spring and it is loud and uncomfortable. Do not expect to sleep in when they have a utility vechicle that has has a riser in it that beeps like it is backing up every time they move it and at 8 am on vaction that sucks. Our toilet in one bedroom overflowed at 2;30 am and then again the next day it was clogged down the drain somewhere but the first guy didn't fix it. So we had a miny flood.

We were not offered to move to another room but they cleaned it up nicely. The toilets sound like jet engines warming up when flushed. These are not being replaced as part of the renovations - you would figure that spending a little more on toilets that it would be worth it.

We have stayed at many of the Wyndham resports and next to the one in Fort Walton that was total junk this ranks just above it. The view was great from the balcony - but because of the location of the buildings around it you have a wind tunnel effect and it is impossible to read or relax on the deck if the wind is blowing.

The other renovations to the room are okay - nothing special. If you are staying in Destin stay at Beach Street Cottages or the new Harborwalk place that Wyndham owns 60 rooms in - but book way ahead or you will be out of luck.

Room Tip: The rooms that face North have the best views of the water - note that parking decks go to floor 3 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We love staying at the Majestic Sun Wyndham. We were married on the beach in front of the hotel so it holds a special place for us.
The staff is always helpful and caring. The rooms are to die for with ample space to spread out and really feel like home. The one bedroom delux is often what we stay in. It comes with a full kitchen, balcony, and whirlpool.
The property is directly across from the beach, not a long walk.
The property also offers other activities including golf. The golf course is great too!
Would recommend to anyone going to Destin!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Address: 77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#13 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.