We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Destin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We own a timeshare here. We thought we were getting a two bedroom, which turned into a 1 bedroom (which meant I was on the couch bed). It was actually quite comfortable. We didn't have a balcony. I couldn't get the DVD player to work (I have the same TV). It was a short walk across the street to the beach---Our reason for coming. The room never matters as long as the beach is great. The hotel Staff was amazing. Gave us a great recommendation for brunch on Easter Sunday-- 790 on the Gulf---SO WONDERFUL. Can't say enough about the staff.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony room or a 2 bedroom. SUPER SMALL for any number above 2 in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in the owner's area of resort in a one bedroom unit, which was a little cramped. Small kitchen, but we came for the beach which was wonderful. Destin has to be the most beautiful beach that I've seen in the States. The resort had one indoor/outdoor heated pool which the kids loved, but it's mainly a resort for retirees.

Room Tip: The resort is across the street from the beach, so see if you can get a room that's beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondave22
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed with some friends as part of a Wyndham package over New Years' weekend. Got a 2 bedroom with the lock out unit, unit very clean upon entering. Two of the ceiling lights were hanging off the fixtures, and the one toilet seat was loose. Called down to desk and a maintenance man was at our door within 10 minutes, replaced lights and tightened seat. Very prompt and courteous.

Units have been updated, as it is an older building. Decent job overall, but could have spent a little more and replaced all the trim and door jambs. Covered a multitude of sins with caulk... Bed was very comfortable, rooms seemed quiet.

Pool area was very nice inside and out, but seemed small for the size of the property. Beach would be the place to be, if it hadn't been so cool. Don't expect a 5 star place, but overall had a pleasant experience here, and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel resort is very nice. Is clean, and we didn't have any of the noise talked about before.
Close to some very good restaurants - Rick's Crab Trap and Cabaña Café ( great pizza ) are within walking distance, Pompano Joe's and Captain Dave's a sort ride.
The beautiful white sand beach is right across the street and almost all the rooms have a great view of the gulf waters.
Silver Sand outlet mall is a short ride away. If you go don't miss the HarborWalk, go down late afternoon and watch the boats bring in their fish catch, have a drink at Harry T's and dinner at Marina Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This place is under renovations during Nov-Dec to get ready for spring and it is loud and uncomfortable. Do not expect to sleep in when they have a utility vechicle that has has a riser in it that beeps like it is backing up every time they move it and at 8 am on vaction that sucks. Our toilet in one bedroom overflowed at 2;30 am and then again the next day it was clogged down the drain somewhere but the first guy didn't fix it. So we had a miny flood.

We were not offered to move to another room but they cleaned it up nicely. The toilets sound like jet engines warming up when flushed. These are not being replaced as part of the renovations - you would figure that spending a little more on toilets that it would be worth it.

We have stayed at many of the Wyndham resports and next to the one in Fort Walton that was total junk this ranks just above it. The view was great from the balcony - but because of the location of the buildings around it you have a wind tunnel effect and it is impossible to read or relax on the deck if the wind is blowing.

The other renovations to the room are okay - nothing special. If you are staying in Destin stay at Beach Street Cottages or the new Harborwalk place that Wyndham owns 60 rooms in - but book way ahead or you will be out of luck.

Room Tip: The rooms that face North have the best views of the water - note that parking decks go to floor 3 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We love staying at the Majestic Sun Wyndham. We were married on the beach in front of the hotel so it holds a special place for us.
The staff is always helpful and caring. The rooms are to die for with ample space to spread out and really feel like home. The one bedroom delux is often what we stay in. It comes with a full kitchen, balcony, and whirlpool.
The property is directly across from the beach, not a long walk.
The property also offers other activities including golf. The golf course is great too!
Would recommend to anyone going to Destin!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Every summer our family goes to Destin and for the past several years we have stayed at Wyndham at Majestic Sun. From the moment we arrive, we know that having a good vacation is very important to the staff. They try to make our stay fun by offering such things as meet and greets for the adults, glitter tattoos for the little girls and video games for the boys. But if you’re like us and you go for the beach, there is always a smile and a cheerful greeting from behind the desk on the way there and back. The rooms always have what we need and are beautiful and comfortable. Everything is top notch from the kitchen to the linens. Several times we have stayed in the penthouse and it is a home away from home. However, this year, Wyndham at Majestic Sun, and especially Raymond, went above and beyond. One of our kids left his beloved stuffed animal that he has had since birth. When we got home and discovered it was missing, he was devastated. We called the resort on Monday and was lucky to get Raymond. He looked for it all week, not just in the room where we stayed, but all over the resort. He finally found it on Thursday and sent it home to a very happy child. Thank you to Wyndham for caring about their guests even after they leave. If you have any questions about the rooms or the beach, message me and I will be happy to answer them if I can. If you decide to stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun

Address: 77 Seascape Blvd, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Majestic Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.