We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to take pictures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Beach State Park

Henderson Beach State Park
17000 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541
850-837-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Destin
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
st louis mo
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Place to take pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to Henderson Beach State Park in the evening to have some family pictures taken. The beach is gorgeous in the park. There was a lot of great backdrops with dunes and sea oats/grass. The beach was not crowded. There is ample parking with restrooms available.

It costs $6 per car to enter the park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    125
    25
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Henderson State Beach is a great beach. It is clean and not overly crowded. I loved the fact that you pay one admission price and are able to come and go as you please. The water was so beautiful and so warm. I highly recommend this beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Showers are out doors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had read that they had showers and in Texas most of the beaches have indoor showers well here they were outdoors. Needless to saw we still had a bunch of sand on us when we left. They have a nice covered picnic area, and the beaches were clean we unfortunately made it there after they had several inches of rain so we didn't get to see the clear emerald waters it was more like swimming in pickle juice. We will be returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“A must see beach. Natural beauty and lots of space to relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I always enjoy state park and national park beaches because there is no ugly commercial stuff and because they tend to be less crowded. Also, the people who go tend to value nature and peace and quiet.

Henderson Beach State park is a real treasure, right in the middle of the Destin beaches and attractions. Clean, large spacious beaches. Water had lots of fish in it too. Beaches have showers, picnic areas and restrooms. Restrooms were spotless!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't have a wedding here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I got married here on July 11th because we thought it would be nicer than having it at the condo we were staying in - less people (strangers) in the photos, etc. However, what we didn't think about was the fact that this is a PUBLIC BEACH! Our first problem was people stole our conch shells for our aisle AND they took our chairs and refused to get out of them! We had to have someone from the wedding company come back out and replace the shells and rake the sand again. This set our wedding back and took time from our paid photographers and photo shoot! Then our guests made a huge mistake using their public bathrooms where they found human feces all over the floor. Needless to say this beach might be beautiful, but the people that hang out here are trash and disrespectful and not ones you want to have around during a wedding!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson Beach State Park also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Henderson Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Beach State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.