We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and great family areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Beach State Park

Henderson Beach State Park
17000 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541
850-837-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Destin
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and great family areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were there in January and the weather was too cool to really enjoy this beautiful park. However, in the other 2 seasons, I would bet it would be a great place to enjoy the beautiful beach in Destin. Plenty of parking, plenty of places to have a picnic lunch, nice facilities.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    125
    25
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I went tent camping here. It was absolutely beautiful!! The beach was so amazing!! The park was clean and updated. We will be back every year!! This is a perfect place for couples!! LOVED IT!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, well kept”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is a really nice area, well kept, staff is friendly, and the beach is beautiful. So why the low rating? Well there are just so many other beach areas to go to for so much less. Lower your prices Florida, its a state owned beach. Maybe for a large gathering, a wedding perhaps, or maybe for a camping experience (go to Topsail, camp gulf), but anything else you can find for free

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Hill, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not overcrowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been coming to Destin for 30 years and never had visited Henderson beach. The beaches were super crowded and we decided to go to Henderson. Loved it, secluded, beautiful. Only drawback, no alcohol in ice chest, we did take a couple of beers but felt like we had to be sneaky.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Easy reservations, if you are a Florida resident & senior (65+) your rate is ONLY 50%, great deal, great location (walmart across the street), very professional, courtesy, gated, large pull throughs, truly private feeling, HEATED showers & toliets, walk/drive to beach, plus,plus, so nice, would stay here again, & again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson Beach State Park also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Henderson Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Beach State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.