We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    189
    68
    24
    14
See reviews for
208
211
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterrett
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and the staff was extremely nice. The rooms were nice but the pillows needed to be replaced. It was slob stains on all of our pillows and the pillow cases didnt look to clean either. Oh but the breakfast was absolutely great! So much to choose from and the lady that prepares the food was very nice and kept the dinning area looking great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the team, and the breakfast. i was sorry to hear that you had a problem with the pillows. We hope that you let someone know during your stay so it could have been corrected. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night at the Wingate in Destin before staying at the Emerald Grande for a wedding. Room was spotless, bed was very comfortable. Very quiet and a yummy breakfast. We were invited to a manager's (Mark Owens) reception that evening. Arone Roache sure knows how to throw a lovely party (great meatballs). Had a great conversation with both Mark and Arone. Enjoyed it very much. (Emerald Grande is lovely, but the staff could learn alot from the Wingate staff). Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We liked the downstairs room. Not so far to drag suitcases from the car!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your reveiw. We are so glad you got to enjoy our reception, and socialize with the team. We hope that you and your party returns to the Wingate by Wyndham soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had stayed at Wingate in Destin frequently, but I must say the quality of service and quality of rooms has gone downhill in 2012-2013. I stayed at the Wingate last night (3-11-13), using my Wyndam Rewards this time, and room 205 was filthy. The carpet sorely needs cleaning. The ceiling was water stained and had falling plaster over the bed nearest the window. The desk had been taken out (the fridge moved there) and there was no phone in the entire room. When I checked in, I asked Joe (manager) for a different room, preferably 3rd floor, in anticipation of a noisy night due to Spring breakers. I was told the hotel was sold out. When I found the room in such bad condition, I called the desk, again asking for another room, and was told nothing could be done. I called Wyndam Rewards and was told if I left the points could not be returned. This morning, I did not ask -- I told-- Customer Service at Wyndam Rewards that I would need those points returned immediately, or a room without charge for a second night, or a money refund (which I did not think would be possible, since payment was points). When I spoke to Joe this morning at Check-out he blamed me for not calling the desk last night (I had called, of course) and when I told him that i called the desk before reporting to Wyndam Rewards he basically called me a liar. I don't think it's the customer's job, in any case, to tell them a room with no desk (Wingates cater to business travelers and always have desks), no room phone at all, and falling plaster, dirty carpet is unacceptable. Management should know enough about their hotel to know to know when a room is not ready to rent! Joe said he would have Wyndam refund the points, but that is yet to be seen. Actually, I should get more than just the points back after that room. This is the second occasion, in two visits, that there has been a bad experience at this particular Wingate. Some of their rooms are good, others are not, and management is very reluctant to make good when something is wrong. The attitude of some of the staff, noticeably Cristie (the pregnant woman) at the desk is also very poor. And Joe acts like he's doing a big favor by renting a room, and you should take what you get. Destin is an upscale community, and Wingates have a reputation of being good over-all hotels catering to business travelers. This particular Wingate, lately, is giving the chain a huge blemish. Other things, the hotel was busy with Spring Break and ran out of food at breakfast, and I just had coffee, one juice, one yogurt because the breakfast bar was empty. There was a long line, of people waiting for dried out eggs and overcooked sausage, and there was none. The waffle mix ran out before 8:30.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room on the third floor because their insulation is terrible and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. As you know from your many visits to the Wingate by Wyndham in Destin, FL your experience this visit was very uncharacteristic of the quality and level of services provided by our hotel and staff. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL

Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.