We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family traveling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 39 hotels in Destin
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    152
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
178
170
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Looking for place to stay over Christmas, original plan was to stay at "on beach" resort, but once you priced out various resort fees and mandatory cleaning fees which ran anywhere from $80-130 regardless of stay length, it because apparent we weren't really getting a deal at all. This hotel is not on the beach, but for the money you'll spend, its a way better deal. Room is decent, nice size, staff was great....breakfast included, cookies, even a manager's reception in the evening with free wine and beer. Yes, FREE. Location is right in the middle of Destin, next to a great pizza place, a grocery store and a Target. You really can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and the kind words. He hope that you had a great time here at the Wingate by wyndham, and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Christmas, the desk clerk said Bah Humbug when we checked in and that he thought Christmas was not special at all, the toilet was clogged, and i had a thread bare towel with grease stains on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank for your review. We appreciate you letting us know about how your stay went so we can improve. I have spoken to the agent that checked you in and he was trying to joke with you about the holiday. I am sorry if it came across any way but professional. At the Wingate we strive for
excellent service and we will take this situation and get better from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was looking to make last minute reservations for the night in Destin and checked my GPS. It gave me the number for Hampton Inn, and when I called, Wingate answered. They were taking all the calls for the Hampton Inn which was closed for renovations. I am gald they were. It is a block off the main road in Destin and near to the beach and shopping and dining and was very friendly and clean and accomodating. They did so great that we ended up staying for two nights. As I left they gave me a discount coupon for the next day. They serve hot breakfast in the morning and were sure to remember to ask about how our stay was and how our day was going. Very nice place and I would be sure to stay again when in Destin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Wingate by Wyndham. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will return soon to the Emerald Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL

Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Destin FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.