We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon Ceasar Salad Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mimmo's Ristorante Italiano

Mimmo's Ristorante Italiano
979 U.S. Hwy. 98 E.,, Destin, FL 32541
(850) 460-7353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 256 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salmon Ceasar Salad Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Back again…to my favorite Italian restaurant in Destin. When I entered, I was greeted by Mimmo, the owner, with a smile and a hug. I think I'm "family". Lol! Jason the bartender provided me with his usual prompt and superior service and Holly came over just to say "hello" and chat a bit. Friendly staff, immaculately clean restaurant. Ate light tonight - salmon over a Ceasar salad. Wonderful! The salmon was fresh and cooked to perfection. Another wonderful dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    53
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
All Over Nation
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best experience ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything was great as soon as we walked in the door we were greeted with a warm friendly smile and sat right away. We ordered the grouper in the champagne sauce which was the black board speical. The rest of my party had ordered the house marsala speciltiy and a outstanding brick oven pizza! We were never disappointed with anything! We also have to thank our outstanding server Trina, she took great care of us. We will definitely be back again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant that's not a beachy seafood option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here sitting at the pizza counter with Maurizio at the open wood fire oven. Full bar, great bread, pizza and pastas. Not your avg mom and pop place. Service was great, ambiance made you forget you were at the beach. One of the best meals we had on a week vacation. Maurizio made us a special off menu pizza with pesto, fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and topped with fresh arugula... Superb!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

First, this is an unexpectedly attractive restaurant (given its location in a strip shopping center). It is well decorated and nicely appointed. Second, they take reservations (or at least call aheads) which is also very nice. Third, the service is great and they seem to have a more mature cadre of servers than most Destin restaurants. Finally, the food was very good. We had chicken marsala and chicken piccata with a side of spinach. Delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Service & Italian Food In Destin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I just have to rave about this place for a minute. In December we had our company Christmas party at this location. My boss accidentally dropped a $50 bill (unknowingly) sometime during dinner. The next day, the owner personally came to our store (knew we were the company Christmas party from the previous night) and asked if we had lost anything that night. We confirmed we had somehow lost a $50 & he handed it over. He said our waitress had found it & turned it in. I'm sorry but you will not see that everyday! The service is outstanding, the decor is stunning, you wouldn't guess from the basic outside, and the food is the best Italian in the area! We absolutely love Mimmo's & recommend it to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmo's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Mimmo's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimmo's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.