We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd

Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd
4000 S Sandestin Blvd, Destin, FL 32550-4279
(850) 622-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 98 East
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We decided to eat at Sagars becuase we were stating in the hotel and wanted a great steak but didnt want to drive. We walked in and the restaurant was almost completely empty. We were seated and the waiter was extrememly nice and helpful. We started out with french onion soup and caprese salad. Within 15 minutes of eating the soup I had to run to the restroom because I became suddenly ill. I dont know if it was the soup or what. The filet was great and the speciality chocolate souffle was ok. Really not worth the 200.00.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    22
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We didn't have a reservation but sat at the bar and ate a wonderful bone in filet. Well worth the price!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

You may want to save Seagar's for a special occasion because it is very pricey. However, when you want to celebrate w/a delicious, relaxed meal with great service this is the place. Four of us enjoyed a lovely evening here a few days ago. We were pleasantly greeted when we arrived & introduced to our two wait staff. In the distance we could hear piano music. The selections were contemporary, easily recognized & the volume was perfect in the dining room. Nice addition to the elegant, reserved atmosphere. We were escorted to our booth-like table. While the booth-table provided a sense of intimacy I would suggest requesting a table in the main dining area. Our men had their backs to the main room & all they had to look at was the wall & the two ladies in our group. They laughed & said they had the best view in the restaurant! The presentation of our Manhattans was very dramatic. The wine list was adequate & we enjoyed a bottle of Dom de Couron. The lobster bisque was delicious. Two of us shared an emerald coast martini which was a martini glass filled w/crab meat & huge shrimp-it was plenty for two. We all ordered 8 oz filets & added toppings. All of the filets were tender & cooked just as we requested. The Oscar topping (crab, asparagus & Bearnaise) was delicious & the shrimp topping had huge shrimp. Our waiter advised that the side dishes were very large portions so we only ordered one truffle fries-it could have fed eight people! When I made the reservation I asked if they offered a complimentary dessert for a birthday celebration. Yes! We could choose a soufflé. Both the chocolate & Grand Marnier soufflés were excellent. Our waiter was professional yet friendly. He did not hover but was attentive. Allow a few hours to savor your meal here. We were staying in the Sandestin resort so it was wonderful to have the resort shuttle drop us off & pick us up right at Seagar's door.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Probably 3 1/2 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a decent enough experience here last summer. The food was pretty good, I actually had the Dover Sole that was fileted table side that was really good. My girlfriend had a filet that was okay, but had plenty better at other steakhouses. The restaurant decor was nice enough, but the place was virtually empty when we went. All in all, the food was good, but at that price and the fact that on our trip nobody was there (to me, this creates a lack of ambiance), I'd have a hard time returning. I give it three stars, but really probably closer to 3 1/2,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had friends that wanted to give Seagar's a try and it was a nice place to dine. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagar's Prime Steaks & Seafd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.