We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Reliable As you Get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callahan's Restaurant & Deli

Callahan's Restaurant & Deli
791 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541
8508377171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“As Reliable As you Get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant always delivers. The menu is large enough to qualify as a diner but the quality of the beef reminds you that it's a real meat market. Everything from soup (the bell pepper soup rocks!) to sandwiches to pasta dishes are consistently delicious. Portions are large and prices are reasonable. "In season" Callahan's can be quite busy, particularly at lunch but, if you've got the time, it's worth the wait. If you find yourself in Destin "off season', it's always a great alternative to cooking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    87
    33
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Family friendly restaurant that appeared to be a favorite of the locals. We were quickly seated and waitress was friendly and helpful. We had a spaghetti and meatballs entree, a spaghetti marinara entree and a chicken entree. Food was good. We would eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came here for dinner and I had the New York Strip, my husband and dad both had Ribeye; and my mom had the chopped sirloin. All the food was wonderful. The prices are pretty normal for a vacation spot for dinner. I was really not impressed with the fries. We will be back and I want to try the Lasagna next. Service was wonderful also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious, Affordable, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth or fifth trip to Sandestin and it ALWAYS includes a dinner at one of the locals favorites...Callahan's. The food is fresh, down home-cooking and never disappoints. It's a casual dining experience but very clean, quiet, and friendly. There is also a "deli bar" where you can order fresh cuts of meat as well as potato salad, chicken salad, and other tasty sides. We have enjoyed the burgers often as well as fried pickles for an appetizer. The BLT's and Philly cheese steak sandwiches are delicious too. Just a note, if you plan to dine there on Sunday, they are only open from 9-3.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lucky Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found Callahan's per chance as we were searching for another restaurant. From the looks of the cars in lot, it was locals as well as tourists. The food was delicious and the waiter superb (sorry I didn't get his name)- he made our meal even more enjoyable by his patience and politeness.
Not fancy place or on the water front, but the best meal I had while in Destin and I tried several of the more "popular" ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callahan's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Callahan's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callahan's Restaurant & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.