We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whale's Tail At Seascape

Whale's Tail At Seascape
100 Seascape Dr, Destin, FL 32550-3919
(850) 650-4377
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Destin
2 reviews
“Average food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the first place we ate when we got to Destin...we were hoping for a local gem with a nice beach vibe and great food, however, what we got was just plain average...nothing memorable really. The place is clean and nice but rather generic for such prime beach location-I think they missed the mark on decor. Not sure if they normally don't play music, but it seemed sort of odd to not have any music whatsoever setting the tone or rather making up for the lack in design. The food was "ok" but nothing spectacular for sure. My husbands drink was $10, served in a plastic solo cup-definitely not worth the price. I don't mind plastic utensils and paper plates if the food is great. We had fried calamari for an appetizer, (a tad undercooked and served with marinara sauce from a jar), and fish tacos, (the fish was delicious and prepared well but served with lettuce and tarter sauce. Some fresh cilantro, a signature sauce, and something other than frozen french fries would have turned this dish into memorable. We spent about $45-$50 on 2 orders of fish tacos, 1 appetizer of calamari, one drink, and 2 waters. I don't think the food or the experience was worth the price. I don't mean to bash this restaurant, the service was fine and it was a clean place. It wasn't horrible, but I feel they missed a few things...it could be a totally different experience if they created a bit of atmosphere with cool music and decor and tweaked the food a bit like adding some fresh herbs, signature sauces, and concentrating on bang up food people remember. This would get people coming back to this place because the beach location and view are beautiful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    83
    73
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool Bar on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Havent ate at the Whale's tail but its a fun place to go have a beer - avoid the frozen coctails - they are very over priced. You can walk right out of the bottom bar and be on the beach

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and view but that is all it has.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant on the last night of our stay. We had actually planned on visiting the Crap Trap down the road but they had a wait of over an hour. We drove by this place and there were plenty of empty parking spaces. I did read the reviews but we thought we would give it a try anyway. The place is very small and has wooden picnic tables with a great view of the beach. My husband ordered the fried Mahi Mahi and I ordered the grilled. It came with steamed rice, veggies and a small potato. The food was served on paper plates with plastic forks. The food was very bland and just seemed like what you get in the grocery store in the frozen food section. We spent $45 on very plain, tasteless, frozen food. The service was good but the place was almost empty on a Friday night. There are plenty of other great beach restaurants that actually serve great food. Go visit one of those and stay away from this one!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We visited a couple times during our August 2011 vacation.....mostly because of the location and ability to sit outside and close to the beach......my son fell in love with Mahi Mahi after enjoying some a Whale's Tail.....

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We finally found a good place to eat with a view and a place that the children enjoyed as well. It is a very casual place right on the beach. Yes, the drinks are a little pricey but this is a resort town and you just have to expect that sort of thing. The grouper sandwich is to die for, it melts like butter in your mouth. It is fried but so worth it! Our waitress was wonderful...so attentive and friendly. We enjoyed it so much that most wanted to go back. Unfortunately we went elsewhere, spent way too much money on food that was comparable to here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale's Tail At Seascape also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Whale's Tail At Seascape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale's Tail At Seascape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.