We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remains One of the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
1740 Old Scenic Highway 98 East, Destin, FL 32541
+1 850-837-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House has been a local favorite in Destin since 1974 serving the finest smoked tuna dip, ice-cold oysters and our famous char-grilled Amberjack. Happy Hour 3-5PM daily.
Midwest
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Remains One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been eating at The Back Porch on every vacation to Destin over the last twelve years. In fact, I have can tell you what I order each time...because the food is always good.

In my opinion, the one thing that makes The Back Porch the place to go in Destin is the true lack of "commercialization" of the entire restaurant. Surrounded by high rise condos, located down and across the street from Red Lobster and McDonalds,The Back Porch maintains the feel of Destin from years past. The service is always good, food tasty, and the beer cold.

If you are new visitor to Destin, you may skip this place for the glitz and glamour of Harbor Walk and the "name" brand restaurants....that is fine by me, I would love to keep this place all to myself.

Ask for the blackened grouper sandwich and a Red Stripe...delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    442
    183
    60
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Again a good experience. Food is wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second time to eat here on our yearly trip to Destin area. Food again was fantastic! I recommend the seafood broiler platter-shrimp, scallops, mahi mahi, and crab cake. Plus it comes with two sides! I shared it with my son. We also enjoyed the crab claws and raw oysters were some of the best we have had in a long time!! Waitress was a little rude when we asked for anything- and she shouldn't since we were automatically charged 18% gratuity ! But overall it was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Amberjack Sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Start off with the crab and spinach dip! It's great!!! The Amberjack sandwich is hard to beat. The fried oysters with the jalapeño tarter sauce are also a must try. I have been coming to the Back Porch for years it never disappoints! (I do miss the corn on the cob) :)-

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite beach restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been eating at the Back Porch restaurant for over 25 years, and it is the best beach restaurant I know--walk in from the beach for lunch or bring the family for dinner, either way, the food and service are great. Also, has small store with fun beach items. I know of no better place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Back Porch for good food and a fun beach atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have been going to the Back Porch restaurant on the beach in Destin, Florida for many years (we have been going to Destin annually the first week in August for over thirty years). It has become pretty much a "must" on every trip there. We try to go at lunchtime because it is nearly always crowded and has a wait in the evenings. It is an open air (in the summertime) restaurant right on the beach. If you are lucky enough to get a table on the Gulf side, you can watch the beach swimmers, sunbathers, etc while you eat. The food is consistently good and typical beach fare in most cases. If you do have to wait you can take a walk on the beach or let your kids play there until your table is ready.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Back Porch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.