We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Paz Restaurant & Cantina

La Paz Restaurant & Cantina
950 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-3202
+1 850-837-2247
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 256 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Mexican on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent food and service. Prices are very reasonable. Ambience not much but a great place for large family groups.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    19
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I tried many restaurants while vacationing here in Destin and only found two I was satisfied with. This one and another broken egg.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good experience-would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Party of 3, horrible service. Server was overly talkative, and nosy. Server recommended dish, dish wasn't good. Took a small piece of it and let her know I was unhappy with dish, she did not take plate away nor offer to serve something else, niether did she call a manager to talk to me. All she said was "How sad for you." Left place still hungry and very angry honestly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I guess we all have different expectations when we say "Mexican food"... But I really like this place every summer I eat here! Frozen Margaritas with sangria on top is delish!! Ok food- seafood fajitas, shrimp dishes, Chickhen. Cheese dip.. All great to my likings! I love southwest. Texmex and most of all authentic. This is a food dinner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not great food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

When we arrived we went to the bar for quick seating and promptly received chips and salsa, although when we ordered our cheese dip it was cold when it arrived and we had to send it back. The entertainment at the restaurant on Friday's is great, but not too good after getting sick due to their grease-dripping lump crab quesadilla.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paz Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to La Paz Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paz Restaurant & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.