We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance but little else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Door

The Village Door
136 Fishermans CV, Destin, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ambiance but little else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I expect off-season was the reason our party of six was the only group there plus two others at the bar. Okay, it was 6:30 on a Sunday evening in November 2014 but we didn't go to find a crowd, only for a meal. We ordered drinks (no prices but what could they cost?) and looked at the menu. I had failed to check tripadvisor.com but even without that warning, the menu was unimpressive so we decided we'd have drinks then move on for dinner elsewhere. Our server Shaun was a little surprised and perhaps a little put off by our change of plans but we ordered a total of 3 glasses of wine ($9.75 each in small plastic Dixie-type cups), one Bad Romance and one Foxy Lady ($13.95 each), two beers ($6.50 each) and a soda. Total came to $73.00 before taxes and tip. I'd like to know if the prices we paid were normal but without anything on the menu I cannot be sure.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only night club in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Prices are a little steep but its the only night club inside the village. Always happening in the summer

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap, Especially in Off-Season”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

There is so much potential for this restaurant, and from what I understand during the peak beach seasons The Village Door is an exciting and fun restaurant. However, off-season it is nothing more than a great view with poor food and service.

The perk of this restaurant is its convenient location to lodging in and around Baytown Wharf. There is great seating on its back porch that give you scenic views of the bay and marina. Perfect for a sunset meal.

However, it would be the meal that is the problem. Our wait was too long (20mins) for practically no one else to be ordering. Our appetizer and entrees were underwhelming to say the least. Frozen onion rings, and cold, fatty brisket, with the food's presentation being as bland as the flavor. Our tacos were simply meat over a bed of lettuce, over a cold tortilla. The sides were good, especially the potato salad.

Even for these flaws this restaurant would have garnered a better rating if it were not for the price of such poor food.

Pros: Great view and plenty of seating on its proprietary dock; located in Baytown Wharf
Cons: Expensive, Poor food quality, poor food presentation, poor food quantity, slow service

Skip The Village Door unless you are going there during peak beach seasons or to drink and dance. It is nothing more than a Tourist Trap in the off-season, and expensive one at that.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should have stayed home”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Service was super slow took 20 min to get drinks. Prices of drinks way over priced (prices not listed on menu). Food was mediocre at best. Spent more on this meal than any other this week and by far the worst.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We sat on the back deck and got to see the sun set over the bay. Service was very quick, which is appreciated with 2 young children in tow. The gumbo was great and had pieces of shredded pork in it. The baked beans are among the best I've ever had.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Door also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Village Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.