We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Coast Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amalfi Coast Resort to your Saves list
Amalfi Coast Resort
778 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had 2 units the week of 7/7 - 7/14 (units A212 & B213). The units were very spacious, but B213 was my favorite. The pools were never crowded - huge plus. The beach area was less crowded. If only it had a better view, it would be absolutely perfect. However, I knew going in it wasn't going to be the best view since it's set back off the beach more & it's a lowrise. Love this area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was such a great condo! everything was new and very clean. The master bed felt like a tempurpedic. I would choose to stay here again without hesitation. The porch has a great open view of the gulf and there is a private cabana and cross over. The pool areas are also great and very large. There was a lot of grass area, enough for the kids to play soccer (which they really enjoyed).. We travel to destin all the time so i know it well. I got such a great price on this condo compared to others. Ask for a307 if you can and if you like things new and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a307 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi Coast for a week. We were in room 427. First impressions of the resort were very good, the grounds were very manicured and the buildings looked great. When we pulled into the parking garage, we noticed that there were 4 luggage carts by the elevator which was very convenient. Once we unloaded and arrived in our room, we were more than pleased. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The beach access is directly across the street from the resort. The beach had pretty white sand and plenty of room. We loved our stay here. We will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: we booked through oceanreefresorts.com and would highly recommend room 427 for two couples going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for years. We even booked our family here for our wedding in Destin. Everyone was really happy. The only downside is that now that my mom is older she has a very hard time doing the steep stairs down to the beach. This place is so nice!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just got back from our first visit to Destin and found a gem of a condo (unit D226) at the Amalfi Coast in Miramar Beach. The building itself is located at the far end of Scenic Gulf Drive close to the large outlet mall in Destin. Its location across the street from the beach seems to be the norm for many properties in Destin. We had a cross walk right in front of the property to get across the 2-lane road (traffic was never heavy so crossing was easy) to the private gazebo that marks the entrance to our private, pristine beach below. The fact that the beach is private allows for unobstructed views of the water from the property as there are no houses or other units on the beach side of the street.

The beach offers a chair/umbrella service that is common along the beaches of Destin with the rental of 2 lounge chairs and a large umbrella for $30 plus tax (around $32 total). We ended up renting several pieces and worked out a deal with the guy for 3 chairs and 2 umbrella's for $50 one day that we planned to stay at the beach the entire time. This made it much more comfortable as our limited car storage had not allowed us to bring as much as we had hoped. The beaches of Destin observe a standard flag system for water safety: red, green, yellow, etc flag colors depending on the currents/surf each day. Lastly, it is important to note that no glass bottles of any kind are permitted on the beach and strongly enforced. Police cars cruise the beach regularly and they ticket people. We were not aware of that the first day and brought bottled beer down to the beach. Stick with cans and plastic! No complaints here as I'm sure that has contributed to the extreme cleanliness of the beaches in Destin. We were VERY impressed with it!

The resort was very well maintained with pretty grounds, and two wonderful clean pools with plenty of chaises, chairs, and umbrella tables for use. Over spring break we always had our pick of places to sit and umbrellas for shade. The units also come with a private parking space in the garage, as well as unlimited uncovered parking outside. There are lots of luggage carts and shopping carts in the garage to facilitate bringing groceries and luggage upstairs. The only thing missing from the Amalfi Coast is a hot tub. On those chilly spring break nights, it would have been nice to have one to retreat to after the beach and pool.

We loved that Miramar Beach didn't have the glut of high-rise buildings that other parts of Destin had. Our beach was made up of a mixture of low-rise condo buildings and private homes. There are surf shops and a variety of grocery stores within 10 minutes. We did our initial grocery trip at the modern Wal-Mart that was less than 10 minutes away. There is also a Winn Dixie less than a mile from the building. In that same plaza is also a liquor store, sea food market, and a few fast food restaurants, not to mention the large outlet mall just across the street from the Winn Dixie. In all, a VERY convenient location with every major chain restaurant and retail store you can think of along the Emerald Coast road that runs parallel to Scenic Gulf Drive. From Ruth's Chris to Panera to Bonefish Grill to Chilis, etc, Destin has it all. And all look as if they have been here less than 10 years. Things look new with an occasional older looking condo building in the mix.

The unit itself was nicely decorated with comfortable furniture. The unit is also quite spacious and included 2 good sized bedrooms with private bath. There was also a nice set of bunk beds tucked into the hallway. Our kids loved those! The master has access to the large balcony that overlooks the pools and offers an ocean view. The ocean view is from across the street so it's not the same as an ocean view you would get from a true ocean front unit, but we thought it was lovely none the less. The kitchen was nice though it needs to be noted that a few more kitchen gadgets would have been helpful. The blender didn't work and that was disappointing as I had just cut up some mango to make mango daiquaries. A second large skillet would be useful for making breakfast, and a set of mixing bowls is desperately needed. These are all minor things and we were able to improvise.

Overall, we would return to Destin and would highly consider the Amalfi Coast again. It was a great value and a fraction of the cost we are accustomed to spending on our annual vacations to South Carolina beaches. Although we prefer the beaches around Charleston, this is a more affordable alternative.

We would recommend eating at McGuires and The Back Porch. Pompanoe Joe's was about a mile away and that looked fun too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed at Amalfi B219 and loved everything about it. Beautiful loaded unit that had everything we needed. GREAT LOCATION and beautiful beach. Great shopping, kids things and great eating. Cant wait to come back

Room Tip: Great Ocean view in B219
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have been staying at the Amalfi for several beach trips now and we love it!

It is conveniently located to get to the big outdoor shopping mall, to get to our favorite local eatery The Crab Trap and a local grocery store.

Some rental units have beach/ocean views, but this condo community is just across the street from the beach. However, do NOT let that keep you from trying it. They have a walkway from the unity to the street and there is a pedestrian crosswalk right in front with a little button to stop traffic. Then, there is a gate with a code and you have private beach access here! It means no huge crowds around you on the beach! I love it!

The pools are both nice. One is heated, so you can swim at night and not be chilly. They have tennis courts, outdoor grilling areas, little cabana rooms poolside where you can change! And everything is very clean!

We've stayed in a few different units and have loved both rentals. They are roomy, clean, updated and nice. No junky furniture or bedding.

We love staying at the Amalfi and feel right at home here!

Room Tip: Ask about sleeping arrangements. The two bedroom had a pullout sleeper sofa to sleep more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalfi Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Coast Resort

Address: 778 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32459
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amalfi Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Coast Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Coast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.