We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to be close to the beach with a few caveats...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Islander to your Saves list
The Islander
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   502 Gulfshore Dr., Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great spot to be close to the beach with a few caveats...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed in condo 718 in early August 2009 with a family of four (two kids, one 4, one 3 months) and we had a great time at the condo.

PROS:
View was amazing. Two of our four nights the sunset was gorgeous and we had a front row seat.

Kitchen to make meals instead of having to eat out.

We actually used the free dolphin cruise amenity and it came in handy.

CONS:
Noise from the shuffleboard/BBQ area/pool below was high during sunset hours. Usually tailed off by 8:30 or 9 except on "Karaoke Night Monday" which lasted until around 10.

Beach is small and a bit of a hike from the room. At least 100 yards to the elevator from 718, down to the lobby, through one of the pool areas and then back across a cut through to a beach that was probably about 50 feet from surfline to grass. Not sure if it was due to storm erosion or what but some of the pictures posted here from 2006 show a much bigger beach area than was actually there.

One bank of elevators (central) and a lengthy walk to room. It's an older property but an elevator on each end and one in the middle probably would have been a better design.

All in all, for the price we paid even during the season, I wouldn't hesitate to go back. It's on a quiet stretch off of US 98 and has numerous places nearby to eat like La Paz, Mellow Mushroom Pizza, a Target & Winn Dixie, etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    28
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I've been comming to the islander since i was a kid with my parents. I cant ever remember a bad trip or a bad experience. Maybe thats why we keep commming back. When we got older my would take me and my brother and friends sometimes twice a year. About 3 years ago my mom went into septic shock and since then has had multiple surgeries and many health problems and is unable to come with us anymore. This year though I am 25 which means i am finally legal to rent the condo out myself so i've invited my brother and a couple of our mutual friends and we will be there in a week! Ive had so many great experiences at the islander that i feel i can rate it a thumbs up. I always reccommend the Islander to other friends and co-workers that are thinking of going to destin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We were so pleased with the islander. There was plenty of parking, and the grounds were very clean and beautifully landscaped Every morning they cleaned the pools and hot tubs. There was a pavilion for cooking out complete with charcoal grills.There were families playing shuffle board, and playing on the large lawn, creating a wonderful family atmosphere..We stayed in unit # 518. It was just like being at home, only much more relaxing!! .The unit was very clean, quiet, and spacious. The view was outstanding from the large balcony. We enjoyed many hours sitting at the balcony table and watching the boats going out and returning.This was our first visit there, and we were amazed by the beautiful white sand and the sparkling clear aqua colored water.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We are looking forward to our 3 year visiting Destin and staying at the Islander. We love the rooms and the beach is so close! We stay on the 5th floor and the view is AMAZING! We always make our reservation with Pam and she is the BEST!!! We can not say enough about the staff at the Islander they are so nice from helping us choose which condo we want to anything we need while there! I cant wait to get back and I am so excited we just called and booked our Aug. visit. Pam and the rest of the staff we cant wait to see you all!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

This hotel is great.It is very clean and comforting. There is an HD TV in the living room and master bedroom.The hotel has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and 2 full baths.Very clean except for a blood stain on the sheet. There is a Krispy Kreme not far from the hotel.Great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V-Town, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I have been taking my children to vacation at the Islander in Destin for the last several years. The atmosphere is great for families and I have always felt very safe there. I recently married and introduced my husband to the resort hoping that he would love it too. He does and now it is a great family tradition to go to Destin for our end of school year vacation treat!! Kids are growing up but still plan on getting together for the Destin trip to the Islander. We always stay Gulf side -- "middle middle" -- (mid level floor, middle of the building) and have never been dissappointed with the rooms. I recommend the Islander to EVERYONE!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The condos are lovely - especially unit #517 - and the The beach is easily accessible, too. It's a beautiful location.

We've vacationed at the Islander since 1998 and our one complaint the past two years is that the staff no longer does anything to control unruly, loud children. This year (2008), there were several children (who appeared to be age 8 and younger) staying on the first floor of our building. They were up at the crack of dawn, running & screaming outside at the pool and this continued until after 11pm. There were several families staying together and some of them would invade the pool area and the rest would be on the beach. The noise level was way beyond normal 'kid' noise. We called the desk twice, but were told that these people were an 'owner's family' and there wasn't anything that could be done. These families & children monopolized the pool & jacuzzi - and kids aren't even supposed to be in the jacuzzi. When we first started staying with the Islander, there were strict rules about children, running, noise, etc. Our children were under the age of 8 at that time - and at no time were they ever allowed to disturb any guests. I am truly disappointed that the Islander staff no longer feels the need to make everyone's stay pleasant. As much as we love the Islander and this lovely condo, I doubt that we will be back. It's a real shame after so many wonderful years of vacationing here.

Since Hurricane Ivan, the beach is about half as wide as it used to be, so even with the restoration, there's just not much beach there. We visited in October, when it's pretty deserted, and the beach still felt as crowded as does in June simply because there's not much space in front of The Islander, Jetty Easy, & Holiday Surf & Racquet Club.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulfshore Dr., Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.