We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited here many times. Always a relaxing experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Shores to your Saves list
Sterling Shores
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1751 Scenic Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visited here many times. Always a relaxing experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Has a large pool with a mushroom waterfall kids love. Another pool on the beach. Conveniently across the street from the Back Porch seafood restaurant and beach bar, as well as The Candy Factory, which now also serves breakfast. Great place to stay, especially if you want to split your time between the beach and pools.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very helpful. The pool is amazing and they have activities for children. The resort is close to everything and some places are even within walking distance. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you need .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in unit 403 and were so impressed! It was huge, spacious and updated...very clean! There is a large pool with outdoor cooking and clean poolside restrooms, also a second heated pool on the beach with a beach hut smoothie/drink bar. all of this is extremely safe and private surrounded by gorgeous grounds. We loved the security gates and great parking access. A nice workout facility also movie rentals and theater. Plus steps from the pool is a great restaurant and a precious candy/ ice cream/ coffee shop. We had a blast!

Room Tip: 403! no one is above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here for the last 6 years and this will be the last. Our room was dirty and dusty. The sheets on the kids bed were white and appeared to be blood stained. Very gross! The large lagoon pool hasn't been heated in the last couple of years. There is a smaller heated pool that max occ is 20. There were about 50 people in this pool everyday. The security guy is annoying telling adults that they can't have a drink on the pool edge whether it be water or beer. Sterling Shores it's time to start heating the pool or I recommend people stay next door at Silver Shells. Also people from the small condos next door keep using the tiny heated pool which makes the situation worse.
Silver shells is a nice place with a heated pool.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

At the end of a busy vacation we decided to book 3 days by the beach. We chose Sterling Sands based on reviews. We booked through hotels.com at a great rate. The condo was on the very top floor. It was not in tip top condition. This meant we didn't have to worry all the time that we would mark carpets. Not that we did but we always feel more relaxed when a place is lived in. All amenities were great. The beach was right across the street. We were able to catch up on our washing so we didn't have it all to do when we got back. The Back Porch is a great place to eat. In the evening we could walk along the beach and watch the sun go down which was beautiful. Everywhere is clean and the staff and residents friendly. Loved it all. We will definitely be back. There were only two of us but this place would also be awesome for families

Room Tip: Go high and look for pictures before booking PH 16 is excellent two bedroom property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This vacation service only has three units in this several hundred unit complex! Their service was terrible! They did not send maintenance people to solve problems when they said they would and the unit was substandard!!! The worst room we have stayed at in several years! The manager of the reservation system was on vacation so they would not help at all! Ironic?!?!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The pictures are not accurate! Our room was misrepresented and was nothing like the pictures! Outside the condo is fine, but inside very dated and falling apart! Furnishings were not clean, tvs outdated and the duck tape on the remote was the icing on the cake. Ugh

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sterling Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Shores

Address: 1751 Scenic Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Shores is a gulf-side high-rise condominium resort located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Shores offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a picnic area, free-form lagoon pool, and a second beachside pool and clubhouse with a snack bar. A 42-seat surround sound theater, meeting/reception facilities, free DVD rentals, and free high-speed Internet access are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sterling Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Shores Hotel Destin
Sterling Shores Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.