We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sunsets, great location on the harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Destin Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Destin Harbor to your Saves list
Inn on Destin Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sunsets, great location on the harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor for 5 nights Sept. 24-20th on our way to Miami and had a great stay. It is definitely not the nicest hotel but if you are looking for a good deal in great location this is the place! Every room has a balcony and it is worth it to pay the extra few dollars to get the harbor view because the sunsets are to die for from the balcony on the back of the building over the harbor! There are numerous restaurants within walking distance that are delicious! Also, within walking distance is the Harbor Walk which makes for a fun afternoon. There are numerous companies on the Harbor Walk that offer all sorts of water sports and dolphin cruises. We went on a sunset dolphin cruise and it was great!

The breakfast in the morning is nothing to brag about, it includes bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. We didn't make it down to the pool or small area of sand on the harbor as we drove to different beaches not far from the hotel every day. It is not really possible to swim in the water off the sand as that is where boats are docked in the harbor and there are lots of fish in the water very close. We didn't have any complaints and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful in recommending things to do! We would stay here again if we make it back to Destin!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the harbor view! Gorgeous sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
So glad you were able to witness the beautiful sunsets over the harbor. "To die for" is a great way to describe them! Nice to hear you were able to take advantage of our great location as well. There really is a lot to do and see right nearby. Our front desk staff really does a good job and we love to hear it! We certainly hope you will make it back to Destin to stay with us again!
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    44
    35
    40
See reviews for
57
125
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We were only checking in for 1 night and thank God for that... All though the girl at the front desk was sweet this hotel was absolutely horrible!! Very old... When you flipped a switched to turn out the lights the tv went off as well. I begged my husband for us to sleep in the car. The photos of this hotel are very misleading... Concrete walls with no dry wall to cover them only paint. The lobby was decent... So overall that was probably the only decent about this place... Well 2 things location was central and nice staff. If you are a picky person do NOT stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
So sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay with us. Your TV must have been plugged into the wrong outlet, because it is not standard in our rooms for the light switch to control the TV. We give you a remote for that ;) I haven't heard complaints about our walls before, but will get with my maintenance / design crew and see what they suggest. I'm glad our staff was their typical friendly selves. We really are proud of the job they do. And you can't beat our location here in Destin, glad you agree!
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second try at destin. Last time we tried a hurricane derailed us. I'm glad we tried. Destin as advertised is beautiful. A little overbilt but having a beach that clean and pretty leads to that. I wanted something with a view of the water but didnt want to drop $200 a nite or more and up popped Inn on the Harbor. First this is not the ritz. This is an older hotel that could use a little maintainance. They lobby is warm and inviting as is the breakfast room . The room was clean and bordered on comfortable. The bed was a good pillowtop at one point but in need of changing out. We had six pillows so i found 2 i liked. They towel were large and fluffy like the high priced places as were the amminities. It is just a great hotel needing renovation. The staff was friendly and it was close to about anything you would want. The view of the water was what i was looking for and it was fine. The beach front at the back of the hotel is on a seawall but you can access the shore next door on the closed down property. The continental breakfast was fresh. fyi the even numbered rooms face the water we were in 506. Our a/c was just about worn out and i wouldn't have stayed there on a hot day. to sum up, small rooms,$89 for water view,could use repairs,convenient location. what the doctor ordered

Room Tip: even numbered rooms face water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate your review!! ....and are happy you were able to give Destin another shot. Hope you will be back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were only here for one night but it was the best night's sleep I've had in a while. Friendly staff, beautiful view from the balcony, comfortable bed. The swimming pool looked cool as the lights changed colors at night. The private beach is pretty tiny so I wouldn't recommend if beach access is what you are looking for. Limited breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are glad you had a comfortable, relaxing night with us! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff is truly committed to making your trip special and relaxing. Special recognition to Carolyn.
It was a very nice getaway the rooms were very comfortable and spacious had a small fridge. Beautiful views, pet friendly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the review! Carolyn does a great job around here. We'll be sure to let her know she got a shout-out. We hope you'll visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor twice in the last month, once for work, and again for pleasure. I was there only 1 night the first trip on business and 3 nights with my husband on vacation the second. The rooms are very small but clean. You really can't beat the location of this hotel for the price. It is within walking distance of numerous restaurants and the HarborWalk Village. There is a limited free breakfast daily and free champagne on Friday nights. Seems like they are trying for a boutiquey feel, it has a nice lobby area with couches and such overlooking the water which is very nice. It is definitely not a luxury hotel by any means, but if you need a clean, safe, hotel in a great location on the harbor, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
It certainly is hard to beat our location when in Destin! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great value for the price! We are regular visitorsw to Destin, 2-3 times a year we go down, usually stay in a condo. This time we did a last minute trip to get away from the cold and stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor and such a good choice! It is right next door to the Marina Cafe, one of the premiere dining experiences you can have in Destin, and also within walking distance of the Boardwalk on the Harbor.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar was well supplied and the cleaning people were available if needed, clean towels and extra coffee were there for the asking. We are not people who expect or want to have a fresh bar of soap every day, or even fresh towels every day and definitely not fresh linen every day! To us that is wasteful and we were very glad they weren't pushy about cleaning everything every day. If we wanted/needed it we just asked for it and it was done well and cheerfully too.
The bathrooms could stand some updating, but everything was clean and the beds were comfortable and for $50 a nite for a room with a Harbor, East Pass, & Gulf view you just can't beat it. We did and will stay there again and we have also recommended the place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor side have very nice views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are happy to hear all of our staff helped to make your last minute trip a good one! We really appreciate their hard work and good attitudes. Thanks for the review and we hope you will escape from the cold again soon and come see us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Destin Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.