We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Destin Harbor

Save Saved
You added Inn on Destin Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn on Destin Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 hotels in Destin
Alvarado, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second try at destin. Last time we tried a hurricane derailed us. I'm glad we tried. Destin as advertised is beautiful. A little overbilt but having a beach that clean and pretty leads to that. I wanted something with a view of the water but didnt want to drop $200 a nite or more and up popped Inn on the Harbor. First this is not the ritz. This is an older hotel that could use a little maintainance. They lobby is warm and inviting as is the breakfast room . The room was clean and bordered on comfortable. The bed was a good pillowtop at one point but in need of changing out. We had six pillows so i found 2 i liked. They towel were large and fluffy like the high priced places as were the amminities. It is just a great hotel needing renovation. The staff was friendly and it was close to about anything you would want. The view of the water was what i was looking for and it was fine. The beach front at the back of the hotel is on a seawall but you can access the shore next door on the closed down property. The continental breakfast was fresh. fyi the even numbered rooms face the water we were in 506. Our a/c was just about worn out and i wouldn't have stayed there on a hot day. to sum up, small rooms,$89 for water view,could use repairs,convenient location. what the doctor ordered

Room Tip: even numbered rooms face water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate your review!! ....and are happy you were able to give Destin another shot. Hope you will be back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    70
    34
    33
    35
See reviews for
53
110
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were only here for one night but it was the best night's sleep I've had in a while. Friendly staff, beautiful view from the balcony, comfortable bed. The swimming pool looked cool as the lights changed colors at night. The private beach is pretty tiny so I wouldn't recommend if beach access is what you are looking for. Limited breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are glad you had a comfortable, relaxing night with us! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff is truly committed to making your trip special and relaxing. Special recognition to Carolyn.
It was a very nice getaway the rooms were very comfortable and spacious had a small fridge. Beautiful views, pet friendly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the review! Carolyn does a great job around here. We'll be sure to let her know she got a shout-out. We hope you'll visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor twice in the last month, once for work, and again for pleasure. I was there only 1 night the first trip on business and 3 nights with my husband on vacation the second. The rooms are very small but clean. You really can't beat the location of this hotel for the price. It is within walking distance of numerous restaurants and the HarborWalk Village. There is a limited free breakfast daily and free champagne on Friday nights. Seems like they are trying for a boutiquey feel, it has a nice lobby area with couches and such overlooking the water which is very nice. It is definitely not a luxury hotel by any means, but if you need a clean, safe, hotel in a great location on the harbor, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
It certainly is hard to beat our location when in Destin! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great value for the price! We are regular visitorsw to Destin, 2-3 times a year we go down, usually stay in a condo. This time we did a last minute trip to get away from the cold and stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor and such a good choice! It is right next door to the Marina Cafe, one of the premiere dining experiences you can have in Destin, and also within walking distance of the Boardwalk on the Harbor.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar was well supplied and the cleaning people were available if needed, clean towels and extra coffee were there for the asking. We are not people who expect or want to have a fresh bar of soap every day, or even fresh towels every day and definitely not fresh linen every day! To us that is wasteful and we were very glad they weren't pushy about cleaning everything every day. If we wanted/needed it we just asked for it and it was done well and cheerfully too.
The bathrooms could stand some updating, but everything was clean and the beds were comfortable and for $50 a nite for a room with a Harbor, East Pass, & Gulf view you just can't beat it. We did and will stay there again and we have also recommended the place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor side have very nice views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are happy to hear all of our staff helped to make your last minute trip a good one! We really appreciate their hard work and good attitudes. Thanks for the review and we hope you will escape from the cold again soon and come see us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. To be honest we were little concerned after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. However we had a good experience. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean. The only issue we had was with housekeeping. They did not vacuum the floor or replace the soap. The girl at the front desk readily proved new .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, I tend not to review a location on Trip Advisor unless I am happy with it. With that said, I was a little apprehensive about staying at the Inn on Destin Harbor because of the mixed reviews it had, but the rated were much more affordable than anywhere in Destin and this was a last minute trip. Needless to say, my apprehensions were put to rest.
First this is not a new property, so if you go in expecting that you may be let down. What it is, is an older, well maintained property in the heart of everything. From check in and throughout the stay customer service was excellent, and I was even pleased to receive a follow up email asking how my stay was.
I'll start with my room, we reserved a 2 queen bed "city view" room. Our room was clean and did not have any odd odors that many others seem to have noted on here. Housekeeping was attentive to our room and even arranged my son's toys on the bed while we were out. The bed was comfortable and everyone got good nights sleep. The carpet was clean and actually looked fairly new as did some of the other fixtures in our room. This makes me wonder if there is possibly a room by room update going on which could easily be a reason for mixed reviews. If I had to say anything slightly negative about the room, it would be that the tv was not a flat screen, BUT you are in Destin so is it really that important?
Breakfast. Breakfast was not an overly elaborate spread, but it was more than adequate and we all walked away satisfied each morning. Choices included fruit, yogurt, pastries, muffins, waffles, cereals, grits, bagels, and heat and eat sausage biscuits. There was a variety of juices and the coffee always tasted fresh.
The pool was nice. It was a bit of a hike to get to and from the pool, but it was nicely appointed and clean. The whole family enjoyed the pool, most of all my son who had a blast.
All and all, I was very pleased with the Inn on Destin Harbor. It is not a new property, but for what it is, I felt like it was a great value. I look forward to returning and will recommend to friends who are looking for a reasonably priced stay in Destin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the thorough review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us...and the pool in particular. We hope you and your family will come back soon!
...and thank you for recommending us to your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Destin Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.