We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on Destin Harbor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Destin Harbor

Save Saved
You added Inn on Destin Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 hotels in Destin
brandon, ms
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Inn on Destin Harbor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ran down to Destin on the spur of the moment to begin our vacation one day early and we paid a surprisingly high one night room charge but this was the only hotel with availability. Read on, you'll find out why. The hotel is very old and starting to get run down. The lobby decor is nice but the a/c wasn't on. Pets are allowed and the sound of whining dogs filled the halls. Some guys on the third floor were smoking (hotel is non-smoking) and the hall reeked of something that wasn't cigarette smoke but not quite marijuana, either. The police came to investigate. We had to change rooms THREE times to find a toilet that would flush and garbage was left on the balcony. One of our rooms smelled so strongly of deodorizer it was instant headache time. The whole hotel felt kind of dirty and unkempt but was quiet at night, the beds were very soft and comfortable, the harbor view was great and the a/c worked great. This is one of those places you don't stay in if you have a choice.

Room Tip: Makes for a great story later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
You are right, we are non-smoking. Sometimes guest smoke on the balcony and leave the sliding doors open. This does present a problem. We are so sorry it was an inconvenience to you. And although we love our furry friends who stay with us, we don't appreciate the barking and whining either and always call the pet parent to handle it as soon as we are alerted that there is a problem. There is no excuse for you having to change rooms three times. If you stay with us again (and we hope you will!) this will not be the case. We are happy you had a good nights rest though and enjoyed the harbor view as much as we do. We hope you will come back and visit us and Destin again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    72
    38
    33
    38
See reviews for
53
113
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Clean and comfortable lodging with great views of the harbor in Destin. Friendly and accommodating staff and continental breakfast each morning. Adequate parking and close to a number of acceptable dining options. Seafood markets are close by for that package off shrimp you may like to bring home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the review! We hope that you will come back and visit us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great view overlooking the harbor at Destin. Very friendly staff. Walking distance to many attractions like boat rentals, paddle boards, pirate cruises. There are a lot of restaurants close by and even a great one next door.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the review!! We hope you'll be back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hi, arrived as planned and had booked a more expensive room with king bed and harborview. Brought our small dog, so pet friendly room. Checked in, went to room 302 and had to go back to desk to get windex, tv screen and mirrors was so mucky, couldn't even see the pciture- hair from previous occupant in sofa bed, kitty litter against bad wall, looked like the staff had done once over very quickly with vacuum. Well, no cleaning staff on so we cleaned for about an hour and got the muck off. Housekeeping and call from manager promised the next day. Didn't happen, but what is the absolute worst is that the a/c unit just reeked of dog urine. Didn't notice the first day because we had slider door open, and a/c not really on. Plus room smelled heavily to windex. The next night we used a/c more and the room just reeked. Apparently some dog had marked territory in the vent which was close to the floor. Carpet was vacuumed but needed shampooing badly.Our feet filthy from walking on the carpet. Couldn't even breathe in the room for the smell much less sleep. So checked out the following day, two days early. Girl at desk very apologetic, promised call from manager when he came in, no call, apparently no concern. The view from the balcony is awesome, but we had to clean the balcony first. Place is older, few outlets. our mini-fridge held together with screws at top. It's nice, don't misunderstand, but not clean at all and apparently that "concierge service" promised in the brochure is an absolute crock. No one even cared to call us. Will not return, would not recommend this hotel. Too bad because if clean, it would have been great.

Room Tip: king room, harborview is great, but I'm telling you- it's not clean at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Sarah! We are so glad you appreciated the beautiful view of the harbor and our closeness to so much of what Destin has to offer! We hope you come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great part of Destin. We were able to walk to a bunch of restaurants, bars and cute shops. We had a room over the harbor. It was a simple room, but it was clean and the view from our balcony was amazing. Definitely worth paying extra for the water view. Waking up on the harbor and looking over the balcony has the feel of waking up on a cruise ship docked at the port. Everyone we talked to at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Be sure to ask them how to walk to the Harborwalk village by way of the waterfront boardwalk and they will point you in the right direction. We were also excited to discover Friday night is complimentary champagne night. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I arrived at this hotel on Friday and the room attendant was still cleaning our room. We got our room key 30 minutes after check in time and there was a dirty sock laying on the bed. The room was really dingy and smelled really bad. The sliding glass door was ridiculously loud when opened. The furniture was falling apart. We had to use the heater at night and it smelled like a urinal. The "private" beach was covered in cigarette butts. They consider themselves to be a boutique hotel. I'm not sure how this is or has ever been considered a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Crystal, we are sorry to hear of the experience you had with us here at The Inn. We strive to make our guests happy and comfortable and hate to hear we didn't succeed in that for you. We are constantly working on improving and do appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Inn on Destin Harbor is a great deal for Destin - fantastic location, amazing views, and super easy to find. We watched the sunset from our balcony, and were blown away by the incredible view. The are restaurants and paddle board rentals right next door, and you are within easy walking distance of the entire harborwalk / boardwalk area. The building is a little older, yes, but it's been nicely maintained, and the lobby and pool area are spotless. This is a family owned and managed business, so I feel good about staying here and supporting the local community. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the Harbor View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We agree that the sunset views are amazing and so happy you had a chance to appreciate them!! We look forward to you coming back to see us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Destin Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.