We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't Stay Here Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Destin Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Destin Harbor to your Saves list
Inn on Destin Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Stay Here Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

So disappointed. Other than the location on the harbor, this hotel should be avoided. The carpet was dirty, There was trash behind the furniture, The handle was missing on the outside of the deck sliding door. The sink was cracked. The bathroom door wouldn't latch. The mattress and linens were clean. Housekeeping didn't replenish any items that were consumed. There was far too much deferred maintenance. Avoid. Avoid. There are better options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    43
    35
    40
See reviews for
57
121
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

When we first pulled into the parking lot, we were hoping the inside was better than the outside(not much luck)! The views are breathtaking!!! The lobby was nice enough. The rooms are below average. Very outdated, not as clean as I would have hoped, and black mold holding the guest book pages together. The view is so nice that if you are staying for a short time and bring your own sheets it is worth it. The location is close to everything in Destin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is very outdated. Needs major renovation. The carpeting in the room was very dirty with holes and stains. The bathroom is so tiny especially the toilet area. The housekeeping service is the worse. You are lucky if you get towels. They must have a shortage. There is a breakfast area with slit tables and there is food and crud in between. It is disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

great location ..very friendly front desk staff..I had a great king size bed ,the room was clean and had a big balcony.. the bathroom was also very clean with nice thick towles....not a luxury resort but just like advertised a boutique hotel..I will go back ...!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: request a harbor view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night and then moved on to our Condo that we rented for the rest of our vacation. We checked in around 10pm and checked out by 9am the next day. The front desk clerk was very polite, we had everything we needed and the room was clean. I would suggest this hotel for short stays. Not the best choice for extended stays with family.

Room Tip: Destin Harbor View of the Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we first pulled in to the Inn, I thought "Eh. Maybe it will be better on the inside.". I was pleasantly suprised when I first walked in. The view of the Harbor when you first walk in is very impressive! And then you talk to the person at the desk. Rude. Found the elevator to go up to our room, and the elevator was scary. Very old. The hallway to the room was dark and dingy. The room smelled very musty and stale. The bathroom was small, but useable. I'm not too picky about those types of things. The bed was literally in a "U" shape. It could have definitely used a new mattress!! It was silly how funny looking it was. To top it off, the balcony door did not lock, and we were on the 3rd floor (which is actually the next floor up from the main floor), so I did not feel safe at all. I also was serenaded by the sounds of the toilets flushing in the rooms next to us and above us, as well as the shower, followed by hearing the people in the room next to us speak, because the walls were paper thing. The hotel really just needs to be demolished, and another one built in it's place. No amount of reno. is going to fix this place. As for the price, it was okay. We ended up going somewhere else way nicer and spending a lot more, but we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

There are plenty of places to choose from in Destin. Pick somewhere other than here. My overall experience wasn't the worst I've had, but still pretty bad. First thing, when I walked into the bathroom I found a used Mr. Clean magic eraser on the toilet. Disgusting. I don't know where that's been. Second, when we were going to bed I pulled my pillow up to find a baby bottle, with what looked like chocolate milk left wedged between the mattress and the wall, right next to my face. Not to mention, considering the curdled state of the milk, it looked like it had been there a while. Lastly, when we went to check out, (my husband had told the clerk prior to check in that we would be paying in cash) they had run our card already. Not only did it inconvenience us because we had to wait 4 days to get the refund, we had to give them our cash and because of their mistake we were running very low on spending money. Overall not the best hotel experience for the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TRIPSHOCK.COM, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Destin Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.