We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Surf & Racquet Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Surf & Racquet Club to your Saves list
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   510 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
dublin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Two couples stayed in unit 219 for three days in September. It is obviously one of the original condo complexes in the area. Check in was painless, with pleasant staff. The beach was great, as well as the pool. Two very well maintained tennis courts were in the center of the complex near the pool. There was also two shuffle board courts. Nice boardwalk leading to the beach. Everything was clean in this area. One umbrella and two chairs is included with a condo rental. If you need an extra setup it is $20 a day. The fitness center certainly was in need of repair. Lots of equipment,but all seemed to be in need of maintenance.
The condos are just naturally dark due to the set up. Little light, and the condo we stayed in had very dark furniture.
The only real complaint we had was the stairwells. They were FILTHY and very poorly lit. I realize this is a beach resort, with lots of sand, but there is no need for spilled drinks, dirt that appeared to be there for a long time, and trash. With the rest of the complex being well maintained this was a bit of a surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    31
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from Destin and we miss it already. HS&RC is my choice for our next visit without a doubt. Rent thru the club directly for free chair and umbrella or you will have to pay! I witnessed the surprise of other renters finding this out on the beach. We rented unit #220 that was remodeled back in the spring and it is very nice. Donna at the rental office is so helpful. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, MS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ended up here as a last-minute July 4th weekend rental. The rooms were clean and the facility was in overall good functioning condition. The location is excellen! Mother Nature didn't cooperate so, the close proximity to pretty much everything was great. We did get a chance to go snorkeling around the jetty just East of the condo. Great spot.

My review is fairly neutral, I realize. But that's the way I feel about the place. Been to better, been to worse. I do feel that it was a fair value for the price.

If you MUST have WiFi, be sure to get a lower level room or at least one located near the center of the building. Out on the ends of this V-shaped building, WiFi was almost nonexistant. Plan on working on your laptop or tablet from the lobby.

Room Tip: If you MUST have WiFi, be sure to get a lower level room or at least one located near the center of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just got back and I fell in love with the beach all over again. We stayed in unit 708 and like all the units, it had great views of the beach. Probably the best part about staying at HSRC was the free chair rentals. It was nice not to have to lug the chairs and umbrella down with all the other stuff. If you came expecting great wifi, don't get your hopes up. They said coverage is best the closer you are to the balcony it's not great...at all. The furniture was nice in our unit. Appears to be fairly new. Beds were comfortable. The only thing they could do better in that unit is update it into this decade. We would definitely stay here again, even in that room. The amenities are superb and the staff very helpful. It's a 5 minute car ride to the grocery store. I'd give it 5 stars if the unit was updated. Maybe next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the building do get the morning sun. So if you're looking to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great location....love the beachfront property and gorgeous views from the balcony .....not to mention the " freebies".....unit 513 is extra nice, super clean......lots of things to do after beach hours

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaiden, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

12 of us were down in July and shared 2 condos. Both condos were very nice and clean. We had great views of the beach. The location was great for the Harbor walk, malls, and grocery stores. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: All the condos have a balcony that face the ocean. I would recommend that you take an upper condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What Holiday Surf & Racquet Club lacks in gleaming, trendy, spit-shined and polished condos on the beach-front, it more than makes up for in incredible location, friendly staff (inside and outside), and overall comfort just steps away from the sugar-white sand. Our extended family (18 people overall) rented four separate condos and had a wonderful week of beach, pool, tennis and fishing. Holiday Isle is a gem and is much less crowded than what happens on Hwy 98. The team at Holiday Surf is quite friendly and Scott (the chair/umbrella guru) is great for recommendations on just about anything. Having two first floor units was a key given the elevators are a little old and slow. There were also some renovations going on around the property, which didn't bother us too badly. We will be back again and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 510 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one and two bedroom condos overlooking Destin's beach. Warm Gulf waters, soothing waves, and beautiful sand add up to a relaxing and fun vacation for the entire family. Each condo offers Gulf views, a screened-in balcony and a full kitchen. Located directly on the beach, Holiday Surf has great amenities like tennis courts, a heated pool, 24 hour personnel, laundry facilities, copy & fax services and more. Get a complimentary beach umbrella set up with 2 chairs March through October 30. Ask about our Seasonal Specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Surf And Racquet Club
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Destin
Holiday Surf Racquet Hotel
Hotel Holiday Surf Racquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.