We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundestin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sundestin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sundestin Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1040 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sundestin was a nice resort. Beach was great. View from room was awesome. Resort was clean and staff were great. Heated pool and hot tub were small for a resort that size. But we made do. Only real negative was the dryer on our floor sucked. After paying 2 times our clothes were still not dry. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
84
37
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatonton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice resort, nice staff and nice beach area. Family had a good time and location is good for the Destin area. It is an older complex, but was clean and served the purpose of a nice place to go for spring break. Easy beach access and convenient walk to The Back Porch" restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Corner two bed condo was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The resort is located so that there is direct access to the beach... Quite expensive to rent chairs and umbrellas however ...service on beach was ok... Room very small and very dark....absolutely nothin supplied except first trash bags dish soap one roll paper towels two rolls toilet paper two small soap bars... That makes Walmart very happy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I rated this place just average only because its an older complex. Its in a great location and has pretty much everything you need on site. After reading the many complaints about the beach chair situation I was very concerned, luckily the resort was not booked to capacity and it was not so bad. I called ResortQuest & the resort itself 3 times before my arrival trying to get an answer about bringing my own chairs and umbrella, the umbrella was the question I never could get a answer to. Yes you can bring your own chairs but as far as umbrella's are concerned they have to be commercial grade. And there lies the problem, no one will tell you over the phone what they consider commercial grade. You have to take your umbrella to the guy who rents them at the resort & let him determine that lol. In other words leave your umbrella's at home. We had a great time but its not somewhere I would want to stay during peak season because the beach boundries are small & confined. Another point to take into consideration is very few units have washers & dryers in them and the ones that do are nearly useless, they are so small you can only wash one beach towel at a time. They must have been made for campers, my advice is just use the laundry room at the resort and save yourself a lot of time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed there recently and it was beautiful. We watched the dolphins in the morning and went swimming in the heated pool at night. My niece is 6 and she loved the arcade and bunk beds. There was plenty of space for the 6 of us plus visitors. The restaurant downstairs was not too bad either.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This year we took a vacation with my mom, sister, my husband, and two small children. We called ahead to make sure we could get a room key late at night for my husband and myself because we worked late. My mom and sister and my kids left ahead of us and got there on time...no problem. The person who talked to me and told us there would be NO PROBLEM WHAT SO EVER with us getting our key at 12am when we got there. WELL...we get there and NOT ONE PERSON is in the lobby. I could here someone talking in an office. I said HELLO....no answer. waited a few minutes and said it again...no answer. (i guess if he thought he quit talking so i couldn't hear him i would go away) I said HEELLOOOO!!! ...again! This guy comes out with this look on his face like I just pissed him off! He looks me me then the clock then me again and goes "WHAT!?!?" Excuse me but is that a way to talk to a guest??? I said I need to get a key to our room...my mom checked in already. He looks at the clock..again ...and says check in was at three. Me::I know. I called and you guys said I could get a key when I get here. Him::Why don't you have a key. ME:: Because I just got here. I work. I just finished a 9 hour drive. My kids are asleep in the room..I don't want to knock and wake them up. HIM:: looks at the clock again and says it is 12:30 in the morning. ME:: I KNOW! My mom has already checked in. I told him the room # and her name. He acted like I was lying and just bothering him. He THREW MY KEY ON THE COUNTER!!! It didn't even work the next day!. VERY RUDE!!! They DID NOT LEAVE US ENOUGH TOWELS FOR 6 people!!! We HAD 4 TOWELS! They wouldn't even give us anymore. Said we had to pay for more or wash them...We were there for a week...I AM NOT going to wash everyday so we have towels to shower with!! PLUS IT COST OVER $2 just to wash!! UNHAPPY! Sleeper sofa was so old all you felt was the bars the mattress was on. NOBODY WHO WORKED THERE CARED!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were a family of 8 and rented #1508. It was clean, well appointed and very spacious, with three bedrooms and 31/2 bathrooms. It was off season (December/January) so the elevators were never busy, which was a blessing seeing we were on the 15th floor. We often had the heated pool or hot tub to ourselves. We did manage to spend some time on the beach when the weather permitted. We have been to Destin many times and have never had a disappointing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundestin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundestin Beach Resort

Address: 1040 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundestin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sundestin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundestin Beach Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundestin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.