We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Pier Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Pier Motel
65 Pompano Street, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Quite, well run ,clean, friendly staff,price and great location are the reasons we will return for a month in 2014.Short walk to the beautiful beach. Motel provides chairs.Can walk the good beach front crab house or drive the many good place to eat.. Want to eat at home. The apartment has full size freg, stove and microwave. the rooms are good size. The bathroom is very up to date. The beds were a little soft .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place was such a surprise. It had a kitchenette fully stocked with dishes, the A/C was on
and very cold, nice furniture, great flat, swivel TV. One of the top two beds I have ever
slept in on vacation. Private parking right outside. Short 10 minute walk across to the
beach. Close to everything. Ms. Kathy was very nice. Hope to go back ASAP!

Room Tip: motel rooms are quiet. beach house are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This was an awesome place to stay! We get all the pluses of location at an EXTREMELY affordable price. Kathi is wonderful and as a previous reviewer stated treats you like family. Every suggestion for places to eat were great! We sat on our patio area almost every night, we cooked out twice. Perfect! We were able to do two activities, pontoon boat renting in Panama City Beach and a 6hr fishing trip. If we paid what others had to pay elsewhere to stay we would not have been able to do those things! Bedding was really crisp white clean and we slept like rocks, comfy! Bathrooms clean, overall great! She provides you with toys, chairs and umbrellas. Our friends stayed last year and loved it also. Very consistent service!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Best bang for your buck! For half the price you would pay to stay anywhere else in Destin you get - A two minute walk to the beach, a spotless efficiency​ apartment,​ a gas grill outside each unit, owner provides umbrellas,​ chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, etc. AND last but not least, the owner Kathy is sooo nice, helpful & will treat you like family! We will be making many return trips to Old Pier & will be spreading the word to all our friends & family.

You do not get a ocean view whatsoever, but we don't go to the beach to look at it! lol
However the location is private, quiet & the area feels completely safe. And again, only a two minute stroll & you are at the beach!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived in Destin two days earlier than planned and had to find a place to stay since the hotel we had reservations for later in the week was booked solid when we arrived. They recommended Old Pier.

It is like an apartment with a kitchen, full refrigerator, living/dining area and a nice tv. It was clean and quiet and the owners were so nice!

It is very close to the beach and tucked in between other hotels. It is worth checking out. The price was extremely reasonable. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Pier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pier Motel

Address: 65 Pompano Street, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Pier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Pier Motel to your Saves list