We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destin Beach vaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts of Pelican Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resorts of Pelican Beach to your Saves list
Resorts of Pelican Beach
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1002 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Destin Beach vaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Pelican Beach resorts in June for a week and had a great time. We stayed in condo 409, a 1 bedroom with bunk beds and pull out couch. The condo is on the beach, with a balcony over looking the gulf. Great view all day long!! Condo was clean and nice, with extra linens!! Full kitchen and we used it everyday.The condo is owned by a family and rented out by the onsite resort company. That is who we rented threw,PB on their website. We did here of a couple families that rented from the owners directly and had problems with the condo. The resorts staff did help these guests, even though the issues were not their fault. The pool was good but in the shade by 1pm, beach is awesome, powder sand and clear ocean water!! You can see your feet. There is a small café & store on site that serves food/coffee, lunch & breakfast. It was good, got pizza twice. The bar on the beach boardwalk did not stay open long enough, closed too early. Pelican beach resorts is close to a lot of restaurants and the Harbour walk area. Go to Big Kahuanna across street for some water slide family fun. Buy your tickets at the desk of PB and save about $8 pp. There are some gas grills out by the pools for guests to use too. This beach does have a beach chair rental company serving the beach and they set up early ( 6am). If you put up your chairs first they will set around you. There daily events posted each day some free, other for a small fee for the family to do. We Loved the condo 409! Awesome view of beach and Gulf.

Room Tip: all 1 bedroom condos face directly to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    75
    44
    25
    17
See reviews for
124
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I took my 15 year old son and his friend for 4 nights. We stayed in a one bedroom dolphin unit with bunk beds. (#703) The unit was immaculate! Close to elevators and across from laundry facility, but still not too noisy considering the amount of traffic thru the walkways. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly! The only downfall to the property is the beach chair set up. It can get rather crowded since their beach front is not large enough to accommodate the 2 buildings. Regardless, the beach service crew was friendly and we enjoyed the beach even though it was crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked thru Panhandlegetaways : TV had been deprogramed and batteries missing from remotes...Hideabed broken, 3rd person had to sleep on the coach x 3 nights until bed was repaired..cleaned up area on kitchen floor due to spill, floor was not clean...shower curtain in master bath had mold and mildew, as was grout around the front of the bathtub...several towels under the sink that were neatly folded, looked as though someone had mopped the floor, washed in cold water and refolded for the next guest...sheet in 2nd bedroom was lined with plastic as if an infant would be using that bed...made the guest sweaty and could hear every movement one made...suggest having a plastic sheet on hand, if needed, but not on bed as your only choice !!! several wall outlets were so bad that ones PC plug-in or curling iron would not stay in place....couch in living room looked like something from a Goodwill Store, not a nice condo...dryer vent was so plugged up with lint ( could see from outside condo door on the wall ) reported to Pelican Beach due to possible FIRE hazard...afraid to use dryer until cleaned...took pictures of this lint outlet and the towels and sent to Panhandlegetaways ...unable to use dryer x 4 days due to respect of others if this were a fire hazard ....clothes were damp due to humidity and unable to use dryer...reported all incidents to Panhandlegetaways...no comment from them as of this date....DESTIN ? beautiful, Resort great ! ammenities great ! restaurants around town, wonderful...Harbour Walk excellant !! wonderful time, but UNIT # 513 needs HELP or lower the price to a cheap motel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is my families first time staying at the Pelican Beach Resort. (We have traveled all over the state of Florida and Southeast to many beach/vacation areas in the past.) The room was nice but did not help to outweigh all of the resorts problems. We strongly recommend that you do not stay here for several reasons we found extremely irritating .

1. The resort has two small pools that are extremely undersized for the amount of rooms on site. (Picture "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" the public pool scene with no room to move without bumping in to someone!) Someone call the Fire Marshal!!!
2. The front desk was extremely rude and treats you like a number! Strange since this place was not cheap.
3. Worst Beach Conditions I have ever seen!
The beach area itself is very small to cater to the number of guests on site. They put up tacky ropes in between the neighboring hotels. The rental chair employees cover every good spot on the beach with their chairs leaving little room for regular people whom do not wish to rent one of their spaces. (I only wish I could post a picture of this on line as compared to the hotels on either side of the resort!) It almost makes me laugh when I see it from our balcony. I do not laugh because this is where I am staying!??! To keep you rounded up and in place you are asked to wear bothersome wrist bands and told if you lose it you must pay them $25 for another one. My wife and kids have red hair/fair skin. As a result, we have a small beach tent to keep them protected from the sun. Whoops!!! Not allowed on their "private" beach. I guess because they want to force us to rent one of their chairs. Which do not provide adequate shade from the sun with the small umbrella they provide. For those of old enough to recall "Summer Rental" you can now picture the beach.

Enough said. Do yourself and your family a favor and stay somewhere else.

Thanks,

Will

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband & 3 kids. Room was nice & clean, pools were not crowded. Only downside were the people (not the beach rental people, but the condo guest) that put their beach chairs & umbrellas right up front on the beach at 6am blocking the view from watching my kids play, but then didn't even use the beach til late afternoon. Also,the tiki bar seemed to close at 5:30, so no after dinner drinks by the pool. All in all a fantastic stay and will def be back next stay in Destin

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked through Resort Quest.. We were able to check in with them, & had to go to the front desk to get a parking pass.. Only had a few problems. Since we checked in a different location, the guy at the front desk verified the reservation, & provided a parking pass.. Once we got in the elevator there was a typed sign indicating the internet Wi-Fi was down.. Why did we have to see this sign in the elevator, & we had just left the front desk... I thought that was super unprofessional.. After 2 days Resort Quest provided a password for a locked Wi-Fi. Arrived at the room it was nice & large and smelled really clean. We booked a one room unit with a full living area that overlooked the beach, full size kitchen, dining room table, two full baths, & bunk beds in the wall. The drain was super slow in the master bath, & we were in room 411 which was right across from the trash compactor.. If you are awake you can hear when people drop their garbage in the compactor & when the trash truck comes in the morning.. Next time will request a room in the middle & not the end.. Our room did not have a washer & dryer, maybe the larger units do.. Had to deal with a family splashing water & the parents not watching their children in the "kiddie pool". An attendant is present, but only at the large pool.. I didn't see her do much other than play with her cell phone.. Overall a good stay & will stay again, just in a different unit...

Room Tip: Don't pick & end room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

For the past two years my family and I vacationed at Aqua resort in Panama City Beach Florida. This year, I decided to try some place new…Destin. We enjoyed Aqua Resort so much that I wanted to stay at a resort that had some of the same amenities as Aqua. We decided on the Resorts of Pelican Beach. We stayed in room 1216 which is a two bedroom two bath condo. The condo was very clean and had a great gulf view from the living room and master bedroom. The living room and kitchen have tile floor which I liked for the ease cleaning. The living room also had nice modern furniture and a flat screen television. The kitchen was a little dated but was well stocked. The king size bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. The carpet was a little dated in the master and guest bedroom. The balcony is located above the resort’s pools and grills so be prepared to smell delicious food as you relax on the balcony.

The resort is in a great location. The beach is behind the resort. The water park is directly across the street and there are restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The condo was not as large or modern as the condos we have stayed in at Aqua, but I think we made a good choice with Pelican Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Address: 1002 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts of Pelican Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.