We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey, but it's Destin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Hutchinson St., Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Kilgore, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but it's Destin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A pleasing hotel close to anything you might need as shopping malls and restraunts are all walking distance, some without having to cross main highway. Beach is within walking distance, but very limited parking available at beach if you cannot walk the distance. Hotel room is small, but comfy. Bathroom walls could stand repainting. Staff is friendly. Would stay again for value as rentals during the summer are quite expensive in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 days in June & the location was great. In the middled of everything including resturants & 1 1/2 blocks from shopping mall with theater. The beach was about 3 long blocks away but walking distance to a public beach. Breakfast was OK with scrambled eggs, fruit, cereal & pancakes. For a family with children it will save some $$. The room was clean & comfortable & the service was good. I lft my pillow behind & to my surprise a few days later Martha the front desk receptionist cld me & made arragenments to get it to me at a low cost. I though they just through it away. Overall it was a great choice & good value. I would consider staying again.

Room Tip: They recomended a higher floor for less noise & we took the advie with no issues on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great value & stay in a quiet, clean room. Breakfast, as always at HIEx hotels, was wonderful. Staff super friendly.

Only a couple of blocks from public beach and also near shopping and restaurants. Only a few minutes' drive to Sandestin.

Overall very pleased & would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I we're originally planning to stay at this hotel. We had rented a condo from VRBO.com, but when we arrived there at 11 o'clock at night and saw how disgusting it was we got back in the car and started looking for hotels. Some people I work with had stayed at this hotel, so we decided to give it a try. By the time we got there it was midnight. The man at the desk was so nice! They only had one room available which was a suite. After he heard our story he let us have the suite for the week for the same price as a normal room. The suite was as big as the condo we had originally rented. All of the staff we encountered, including the manager were super nice and accommodating. We're obviously clean freaks, because we wouldn't stay at the original condo. The room at this hotel was exceptionally clean, and well maintained. I wish the hotel was actually on the beach, but public beach accesses are only a few blocks away. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We received a free night thanks to our Priority Club Points, otherwise the cost would have been $129 plus tax.
Our room was clean and all the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel is only blocks from the beach and someone told
me the Destin beach was voted one of the top ten beaches. I agree, with its white sand and clear water it is hard to beat.
The morning breakfast has egg and cheeze omelets, sausage and gravy, cereals, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice and clean. Very quiet, decent suites with living room area. Outback Steakhouse next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destrehan, Louisiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Destin is nice for short stays. It makes no attempt at luxury, but achieves great success at comfort.

You get a clean, comfortable room with either one exceedingly comfortable king or two queen beds, and a sofa-sleeper. The free breakfast includes enough variety and choices that even if you don't care for *everything* on it, you will find several things to enjoy. I say the hotel is fine for "short" stays because the public hallways, lobby, and pool are all just a little on the small side. Your room also includes a microwave and coffee maker, a desk, a stuffed chair, and a coffee table in front of the sofa sleeper. There is a dresser and two nightstands in the king room, and the lighting is adequate. There is a full bath with shower (see Tip #1 at bottom), and wireless internet access is free (see Tip #2 at bottom).

As far as location, it is a very pleasant two block walk to the public access to a world-class beach. Adjacent to the property are shopping centers and dining choices galore, and just across the highway is the mega-outdoor Destin Commons mall. Still, it is a quiet area because it faces the *back* of the two adjacent malls. Noise within the hotel is not a problem either, although I was oddly a bit self-conscious as I pushed the loudly-squeaking luggage cart down the hallway when I arrived late at night; one gentleman opened his door to see what the noise was and I apologized, embarassed.

The front desk, breakfast room staff, and housekeeping are all as courteous and professional as you can possibly imagine - really, they are consistently more so than at most hotels, and commendably so!

The bottom line is that if you are planning on a short stay (4-5 days or less) and your planned activities include spending time at the beach, shopping and dining in Destin, then this is a fine choice.

TIP #1 - To run the shower, you have to pull down on the bathtub spout. It took us a few disbelieving minutes to figure this out; it is by no means intuitive.
TIP #2 - The password for the wireless network expires at mid-day on Fridays, so don't waste your time after that trying to connect with the old password; call the front desk for an update.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area

Address: 108 Hutchinson St., Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Business Hotel in Destin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Commons Mall Area has been newly renovated in 2013 and is located near the Destin Commons Shopping Center and the sugar white beaches. This Destin hotel offers all the comforts of home as well as the convenience of location. Just a short walk or drive to the beaches, Destin Commons Shopping, Silver Sands Factory Outlet Stores, deep sea fishing, and Destin Golf. Other nearby attractions include: The Track, Big Kahuna s, and Henderson State Park Beach. Whether recharging by the outdoor pool or at the beach the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mid-Bay Bridge is the Destin hotel that will exceed all of your expectations. Each of our rooms and suites are equipped with coffeemakers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, and 27' televisions with cable, CNN, ESPN, and HBO. All rooms also contain microwaves and refrigerators.This Destin hotel offers the fast paced traveler a productive haven for work with all the essentials including free wireless Internet hot spot in lobby and high-speed Internet access in all 74 guestrooms; or guests may try our new hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Destin (Mid Bay Bridge) Hotel Destin
Holiday Inn Destin
Destin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.