We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Motel 6...predictable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Destin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Destin to your Saves list
Motel 6 Destin
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   405 Highway 98 E #A, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Alpharetta
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Standard Motel 6...predictable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

By accepting our pet, they have earned our loyalty for a return visit. Beds were not very comfortable. Only a small bar of soap and minimal towels are provided. No mini fridge, no microwave, no coffee pot (we brought a hot pot though), and no complimentary WiFi. As a Marketing professional, they would do better to add the WiFi into the rate for everyone (they charge $2.99/night/device) and advertise it as "Free" instead...as this is more the norm in the industry these days. They are paying for it whether it is used or not, so better to get 100% of something than 30% of the guests using it for $2.99 a night. Same for shampoo/mouthwash. Add a $1.00 per day and include it as "complimentary" and have a positive customer experience rather than a disappointing one. The lack of a chair for the desk was more than an inconvenience, it was annoying. But we were happy to have our furry friend with us on vacation (complimentary). This was a HUGE plus and thank you Motel 6. Read the pet policy and bring your crate (we did) for when you leave the pet in the room.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, best to request the ground floor. I would also suggest asking for the back unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    17
    14
    28
See reviews for
36
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have no complaints. This is the third time that I have stayed here: same experience each time (with the exception of the spring break phenomenon).

The front desk staff is always courteous. The rates are nice and low. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are clean. They have down-and-outs, so you can park in front of your room.

Motel 6 can sometimes be a dicey choice, but there are those exceptions. This is one. Reliably good rates and clean rooms.

Just remember: amenities are virtually nonexistent at any Motel 6. Bring your own soap and shampoo (if you have hair - I don't). Don't count on a large flat screen TV with hundreds of channels. Motel 6 is for sleeping. You can do that here, in comfort, without being concerned with filth.

Note to Self: Spring Break sucks for middle-aged men traveling for business. College kids party until all hours of the night. Stay someplace farther away from the beach when traveling through Florida during Spring Break.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, or count on carrying your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas , TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Saw many good reviews before I booking.
Lived two days in the motel 6. no any services available are in the hotel.
the environments were very noisy.
Low quality, fair price motel .
It is my first time lived in mobile 6 , I won't choose Motel 6 any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Price was reasonable and the room was very clean and had a nice soap smell to it. Though, all of the towels were dirty with hair, paint, and unknown spots of substance! What I thought was disappointing was that there was no fridge, no coffee maker, no shampoos, no microwave, just an old TV but you get what you get right? And what I thought was peculiarly interesting was that my room was a no-smoking room yet there was an ashtray on the table that was upside-down with the no-smoking sign on the bottom. I mean, what? Why would you put an ashtray in a room with a sign on the bottom of it that tells you not to smoke? Are you getting what I'm saying? I know it's not important but personally, it befuddles me. Terrible thing was, there were always lots of people hanging outside of my room at midnight chatting and laughing and smoking right outside my door. There also was a dinky swimming pool but that was surprising for a motel so I'll give 'em credit for that. I wouldn't necessarily call this place "safe." Service was poor.

Room Tip: Second floor will have less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Panhandle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are here each January for business reasons, and we look for clean, safe, reasonably priced lodging. Have stayed here 3 times and have always been satisfied, but this time was really the best. Under new management, the room this time had new mattresses, and they were excellent. Much better than last year. Front desk staff was friendly and pleasant and working very hard to please their guests. We had a couple drunks in the room next to us; one call to the front desk quieted them right down. Clean, nice big fridge, stovetop and microwave (bring your own pots and pans) , nice big tv, everything in the room worked well, and lots of room. Guest laundry was very clean and machines were in great shape. We were very pleased and will certainly return. This is a good, well-run place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Motel 6 is known as a budget chain...but many of their properties are clean and well located...and this one of them for me. Nothing fancy...but clean. Two stories on main road...I like they have a pool too.

The location is great! I stay there when some events are going on down on the bay...and I can walk there easily so no parking problems. Also very reasonable price. I stayed there this weekend and it was $45 a night...including tax...and Internet was only $3.00

It's close to a lot of restaurants and stores...and did I say I really like the pool?

It's also a short drive to the big stores (Silver Sands Outlet) and only about 30 minutes away to 30 A...and maybe an hour to Seaside.

It's a hotel I don't mind staying at myself...

Overall, it's a good place to flop down without a lot of bucks.

Room Tip: I ask for a room on the front side...on 98...across from the beach areas (really condos and the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here over the summer, and on our next vacation to Destin we will not be staying here. The staff was rude especially the front office staff. They have a new manager who was not friendly like the old manager was. Room was noisy and we had to be moved to a new one, but had to fight to get another room. Had we not booked this room in advance we would have went to another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Destin

Address: 405 Highway 98 E #A, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Destin 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Destin Hotel Destin
Motel Six Destin
Destin Motel 6
Destin Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.