We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19001 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Destin
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived early for a wedding but other hotel was already booked. Got this at the last minute and was not disappointed. Beautiful decor and color scheme. Rooms very nice with an extra large bathroom. Bed very comfortable with upper scale linens. Breakfast was good...about what you would expect. Very inviting and welcoming hotel. Desk staff were fantastic! Cost was less then where we were going... Kind of wish we were staying here. We will mark this one for a return trip.

Room Tip: There were nice looking rooms with balconies looking towards the beach area. Ask for one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and feel honored that we could accommodate you during your visit to Destin. We strive hard to provide a very welcoming staff and atmosphere. Our housekeeping department works diligently to provide service which sets us apart from other hotels. Thank you for acknowledging our comfortable beds and linen. We strive to provide many options for breakfast including self-serve waffles, eggs, sausage, a variety of fresh fruit and cereal, pasties, yogurt and more. Please know the comments regarding our front desk staff will be shared with everyone. We hope you will return to the Emerald Coast again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    60
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
62
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our condo was available. Very nice motel with nice landscaping, good pool, both inside and outside. Breakfast was well presented and maintained by an attendant. This is not a beach motel but is not far away either. Henderson Beach State park is across the highway so that you can view the Gulf from the balcony rooms on the front, and other public beaches are very near. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind comments as we strive very hard to provide excellent accommodations at affordable prices. Comfort Inn Destin is one of the few hotels in the Destin area to offer both an indoor and outdoor pool. Comfort’s outdoor pool is a tropical style pool which contributes to the overall feel of our hotel. The indoor pool is slightly heated and makes for a great escape for guests who are looking to relax in the afternoon or take a break from the sun or rain. Comfort Inn Destin is centrally located and near the best restaurants, entertainment and activities that Destin has to offer. Thank you for acknowledging that we are located across the street from Henderson Beach State Park. We feel fortunate to have such a wonderful and well maintained beach within walking distance of our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments in regard to our staff. Please rest assured these comments will be shared with everyone. We hope to welcome you back to the beach again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed April 18- April 20, was on vacation and our original stay was booked for April 18 -April 21. Saturday morning, came back from working out and saw a bed bug crawling on my pillow.(Room 301) Took it down to the front desk and the front desk clerk "Angela" was the rudest person. She argued that it was not a bed bug and then advised us that the manager "Amanda Armacost" was on vacation and we could call her on Monday when she returned. She gave us the managers card which was the front desk office number to the hotel!! I had to call the Choice hotels corporate office, which I had to find myself since she told us that she didn't have the information. I spoke with a rep from the corporate office and they called the front desk and made her a call another manager to come in and handle the situation. They had ECO LAB come out and do a inspection which it took him all of 10 minutes to do. He stated that there was no current or prior activity of bed bugs. Luckily my girlfriend knew all about bed bugs, as her fiancé has run a pest control business for years. The manager "Vickie Giles" pretty much insinuated that we bought the bed bug since the pest control didn't find anymore. Long story short, we went to the beach and asked them to move our things into a new room when it was ready. Got back to the new room (Room 309), flipped the mattress and found more bed bugs, even found one in the ceiling. We had to wait 3-3.5 hours for the manager to come back to the hotel, as she was unreachable. Never heard of a manager running a large hotel and not being able to reached for hours. The manager came up to the room and acted like the bugs were not bed bugs. We did get some quarters from the front desk to wash/dry our clothes. We bought some garbage bags which we put everything in and drove back to Atlanta at 12:30am in the morning. We even bought some bed bug spray to spray our suitcases down. Our first trip girls trip to Destin FL and it was ruined, not just because of the beg bugs but the way that the manger and staff treated us.We received a refund, but the manager acted as though she didn't want to in the beginning. I ran across a website called "www.bedbug registry.com" and the hotel had two incidents last year on the 3rd floor as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
On 04.20, EcoLab was called to the property to inspect guest room 301 for potential beg bugs as per the request of the guest. The inspection was completed at 10:52.am. Per EcoLab “No Live or otherwise bedbug activity was found”. The guest requested a copy of the EcoLab report to prove the room was beg bug free. After the EcoLab report was provided to the guest, the guest continued to request a refund. As a good faith measure, the guest were provided money to launder their clothes and given the option to move to another room or leave the hotel without penalty. The guest elected to move rooms. Prior to the manager’s arrival and EcoLab’s visit the guest continued to state to the front desk that they were entitled to “damages”. The guest were moved to room “309” which they claimed also had bed bugs. The guest repeatedly stated to the Houskeeping Manager that the “they did not plant” the bed bugs in their hotel room.

The front office manager was offsite and did follow-up by phone with the guest letting them know that she would be in as per their request once she was back on shore later in the evening. The hotel offered to move guest to another room until EcoLab could be called out again. The guest refused to move and stated they would be leaving as soon as possible; however, the guest continued to stay in the room for several hours after the manager arrived and the refund was issued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel and the staff have been wonderful. I can't say enough about their willingness to make us comfortable. The only bad mark I would give them is in the area of their breakfast. It leaves a lot to be desired but hey (it is included the price of the room). Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to come here again during our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Be flexible and patient, courtesy was appreciated during the check-in process.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our staff. We apologize you feel our breakfast did not meet your approval. We strive to provide a vide variety of breakfast items including waffles, sausage and eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereal and other items. We hope to welcome you back to the beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The staff was very friendly and welcoming; the hotel is perfectly located and well maintained. I was happy (and surprised) that the air conditioning unit was NOT noisy, which tends to be the norm.

The hotel was clean and the breakfast above par for Comfort Inns and I would certainly stay there again. As a side, when I returned home, I had received a handwritten note from the staff thanking me for staying with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are excited to hear you had a "Perfect Overnight Stay" at the Comfort Inn Destin. It's our goal to provide the facility and customer service that keeps our guest returning. Thank you so much for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to the beach again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. Paid extra for a room with view and a balcony. The room was on the top (4th) floor and had a distant view of the beach at Henderson Beach State Park. The room was spacious, however, there was very limited counter-space for the bathroom. The sink, counter, and mirror are actually separate from the bathroom itself. The room included a microwave, a small refrigerator, and a couch. The balcony was a plus because we could open the door and let the fresh breeze into the room. There also were some chairs and a small table outside, which we enjoyed briefly while the weather cooperated. Noise wasn't an issue for us but may be for others since the hotel sits right on a main road. Rooms in the back of the hotel may be quieter but have no view. The only suggestion I have is to bring your own pillows as I found the pillows small, hard, and lumpy.

Breakfast is served daily until 9:30 am and had a good variety of options (yogurt, cereal, bagels, pancakes, etc), however, there wasn't any fruit available.

All and all a good place to stay for a short getaway.

Room Tip: Opt for the water view unless road noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind comments in regard to our hotel and your visit. We apologize for not having fruit available during your stay. We make every effort to keep a variety of fruit on our breakfast bar, but at times due to heavy demand we may run out. We regret that our pillows did not find meet your comfort level. The pillows are a brand standard and required in all Comfort Inns throughout the United States. We sincerely hope that if you are in the area again you stop and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a nice property, well maintained, friendly staff, immaculate grounds, great location, good breakfast--everything you need for a great stay. The weak link is the corporate Wi-Fi. We had the same problem with our Comfort hotel in Chattanooga a day after Destin. The user acceptance screen kept randomly popping up. It takes you to the hotel home page, eventally, then back to where you were. Wi-Fi is kind of a necessity these days, and I'm thinking I won't stay at another Choice hotel unless it's across the parking lot from a McDonalds...

Wi-Fi aside, this is a great hotel in a great place.

Room Tip: For a small upcharge, you can get a gulf-facing room with a balcony. Fourth and probably third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDestin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are pleased you took the time to post a review of Comfort Inn Destin. We are glad your overall experience was worth a positive mention on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry you had difficulties with your Wi-Fi. Although these types of difficulties are not common at Comfort Inn Destin, we do offer guest Internet support 24 hrs per day. We would love to welcome you back to stay with us again and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 19001 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel renovations are currently in progress. There is low guest impact but room availability and preferences may be limited during this time. Thank you for your patienceOur Mediterranean style Comfort Inn is Platinum Award award-winning, recognized by Choice Hotels International as "the Best in the Brand". The Comfort Inn features an indoor heated pool and tropical outdoor pool to relax by. Executive and Jacuzzi suites are available as well as balcony rooms with breath taking views of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Destin
Comfort Inn Destin
Destin Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.