We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy. to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4615 Opa Locka Lane, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Cuba, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had read several negative reviews, and several positive reviews, so we went ahead and booked the hotel hoping that it would lean towards the more positive side. We were WRONG! Most disgusting hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff is not polite in the slightest and the hotel overall was just grungy feeling. We were in town for 8 days, so this was a very unfulfilling trip considering the conditions. We wanted to book another place right away, but it was a prime time for Destin so everything else was booked. We even considered moving to PCB just to get out of this disgusting hotel, which is not fair to the customer in the slightest. The walls were disgustingly dirty, there was an outlet cover missing on one of the outlets, which if I had a small child I would be super upset over. Why would a hotel want to take such a risk like that? The mattress cover was pee stained, there was tons of mold in the AC unit, which you could smell in the room at all times. if you pulled the mattress back there was NASTY hair, dirt, crumbs, EVERYTHING. I would not recommend this hotel to a homeless person. I spoke to the gentleman at the front desk at the time to no avail. Horrible, HORRIBLE, experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    15
    13
    20
See reviews for
24
17
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Small and economical but don't go if you have more than three in your party. We had four. Our room had two double beds. It was very cramped. The lady at the front desk even said their rooms at this ESA are smaller than most. We had hoped the room would have a love seat in addition to the two double beds but it did not and the lady at the desk said only the rooms with a singe bed had a love seat.
The fridge had a broken missing handle. The microwave had burn marks on the door. However both functioned very well. There was no exaust fan in the bathroom. You have to open the door to let out the steam.
There was the smell of food in the room from previous guests.
There was no lobby to sit down and read or relax. The pool area was locked up until 9:00 am so if you want to go outside and sit you have to go outside and go around the hotel and come in the back way.
The hotel overall was fairly clean. If you were a couple or a family with one child or two small children this hotel might be ok.
It's very close to Destin Commons mall and an outlet mall with many stores and public beach areas. There is no view of the water from the hotel.
The next time we go we will search for another hotel. If you want a place to sleep while you do other things in the area this might be a good place for you.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy., responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Your comments in regards to your room being clean overall are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read of the condition of the fridge and microwave. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are making sure these items are repaired. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me, at dol@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

My hubby had a conference to attend at the nearby Hilton Sandestin and we just could not afford their outrageous prices. He found a great deal on Travelocity and Extended Stay was perfect for two nights for our business travel needs. We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night and it was very quiet. The beds were comfortable and it was nice to have a large frig, microwave and stove. There is a Winn-Dixie and a Publix within close driving distance.

The breakfast is truly continental (coffee, oatmeal packets, breakfast bars, muffins, apples and oranges) but that's the whole concept behind "grab and go." If you want more, you can cook your own or find a myriad of places to eat within a short drive.

I like having a kitchen to make my own food or to reheat leftovers, popcorn, tea, etc. A resort would not have these amenities. A few things to be aware of will make your expecations more in line with a "budget" hotel. 1) Kitchen utensils, pots, pans, dishes are not initially provide, but if you want them all you have to do is call the front desk and they will accommodate. 2) Housekeeping service is not automatic and if you need daily cleaning you will be charged an extra $5 fee. We did not feel the need for two nights since there was plenty of TP and towels. 3) If you need more towels, etc. all you need to do is ask at the front desk. 4) There is self-parking and it is FREE. 5) Though we did not use it, there is a very nice laundry room available too.

Another thing to note is that we felt very safe here with the interior corridors and entrance only by guests with a key card. Internet wi-fi is available in guest rooms for free, but you must get through the Geico ad first since they subsidize the free wi-fi. (In fact I am writing this review from the hotel room!) ;-)

Room Tip: I smoke, so be forewarned that the whole third floor is where the smoking rooms are. The ice machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here 2yrs ago and it was great however everything changed! The hallways were very dirty. The room was very dusty we got a double bed room with only 2 towels, we ask for more and the front desk girl was very rude. The breakfast was only coffee and horrible muffins. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Unfortunately I was stuck here for work. The front desk was rude, if you ask for fresh linens they give them to you unfolded. No breakfast, just coffee and terrible muffins. I stayed in two different rooms and they both smelled Horrible. Hallways were filthy. I will never choose to stay here.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights.
Pros:
Price
Staff was nice
internet speed was acceptable
everything in room worked
Cons:
breakfast was lacking
towel policy doesn't make sense
Would I stay there again? Probably yes because of the price. I normally just use hotels as a place to crash. Location was close enough to everything else, so convenience is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before hand. They don't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

OMG! the worst hotel I have ever been to. When you're driving to it no wonder its almost at the end of the hotel line. When the front door glass has so many fingerprints you cant see through the door. Im sorry (Ms.Sheila) at the front desk I commend you for standing there all day inhaling the scent of Cheetos and molded shoe insoles all day. In other words the Lobby stinks.So guess what? Of course your room wont be better. On the way up to Death Row on 3rd floor, There was so much trash on the floor, ONLY HOTEL IN DESTIN THAT ALLOWS DOGS, Let me tell you about the unrestrained FULL GROWN PITTBULL that was on the loose in attack mode at a couple in front of me trying to get in the elevator. And Im not sure which guest were smoking marijuana it smelled up the hall. Police were called and stayed about 5 minutes as hotel policy that its checked out. Stevie Wonder could have found that by smell only.

Needless to say I checked in at 5p.m. and checked OUT by 6p.m.!
THANK GOD I was able to find a RESORT that was better and it wasn't $230 for one night of hell! Are you serious !

Room Tip: choose the room at the next hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy.

Address: 4615 Opa Locka Lane, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy. 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Destin Hotel Destin
Extended Stay America Destin
Extended Stay Destin
Destin Extended Stay
Extended Stayamerica Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Destin - US 98 - Emerald Coast Pkwy., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.