We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Off-season Beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4214   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points in Destin!
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Opp, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Off-season Beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Sandestin Hilton last weekend and had a great experience. I have always thought the fall and winter were great times to visit the beach because of less crowds, less expense and better views. This hotel has clean, large rooms and many amenities to keep you busy in the off-season. The price is reasonable and the staff has time to be extra helpful. The weather was great for walking on the beach, the views (with dolphins swimming by) superb, and everyone is so much more friendly when not so busy. The hotel even has an indoor heated pool and hot tub if you so desire. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with a beach view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    422
    179
    119
    85
See reviews for
444
339
26
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a Thanksgiving getaway within driving distance of Baton Rouge and we chose the Hilton Sandestin, which was about a 5 1/2 hour drive.

The hotel staff bent over backwards to make sure our every need was met. The 2 pools are awesome and we never had a problem finding a perfect spot. Even at the end of November, it was still 75 degrees and sunny. The beach was very clean and beautiful and accessible....just a 5 minute walk from the hotel lobby.

The hotel itself and rooms were spotless.

There is a Sushi Chef on staff and I ate Spicy Tuna Roll's every day (very reasonably priced, too, just $10.). For TG dinner, they put on a full Thanksgiving feast which was amazing.

We did the breakfast buffet every morning, which was also amazing, I ate a ton of bacon, and they will make you fresh omelet's to order.

The only complaint I have was slow bar service. On day #1, there was only one bar open and only one bartender to service the entire hotel. Michelle seemed to wait on customers who were right in front of her rather than paying attention to who was there 1st, resulting in 20-minute waits for poolside cocktails. On day #2 they opened the outside bar as well, but single-bartender staffing for 10 guests at any given moment was pretty slow, too.

All-in-all, it was an amazing experience and we will definitely be back. I highly recommend it. 1st class treatment at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The photo is a view from our room. Third floor, room #332.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Baton Rouge Living,

I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach over the Thanksgiving holiday. Fortunately the weather also assisted with warm and clear skies during that weekend.

I do want to apologize for the slow service you experienced at our outside bar. We are typically closed in November outside but due to the nice weather we decide to open at the request of several guests. We did not anticipate the high demand we experienced. We will correct our short comings next year.

We hope you have a wonderful holiday season and have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very nice hotel with a nice atmosphere and clean rooms. Perfect beach and whoever likes to play golf - this is your place.There is also a nice mall round the corner.
Would return there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: sea side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church, Barbados
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Sandestin Hilton is always a great time... the hotel shows a little bit of age around the edges, as so many of the big old hotels on Florida beaches do -- but don't let that deter you. It's got everything you need on-site, and feels homey & broken-in like a great pair of slilppers. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear BajanCajun,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your comments with us at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We pride ourselves on the excellent service and amenities we offer over the past 26 years we have been in operation. This being said, you will be pleased to know that over the next two years, including this winter we are renovating multiple areas of our property in order to continue being the leading and only full service Beach Resort on the Panhandle of Florida.

Once again, thank you for sharing your insight with us here at the Hilton Sandestin. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future. Until than I hope you have a happy holiday season.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager

HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Right on the beach with great food options and service. Very pricey but you get what you pay for and then some. I will come back any time the family wants to go to Florida Don't expect big waves but plenty to do with indoor outdoor pools hot tub full service bars and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hilton Sandestin Golf Resort and Spa is a great place to stay at and its facilities are top-notch. The resort area is well setup and the grounds are pretty as the Hilton is in a gated community. From the welcome greeting to the checkout all the staff were super and tried hard to make my stay a welcomed vacation. The room was large and nicely equiped, quality furnishings throughout. The bistro for breakfast had many choices and great quality of food to choose from. The pool and hot tub area inside are well designed and during the bad weather a nice place to be but outside facities are also nice. The hotel is right on the beach and the beach area has a private feel to it. You have great views of the sunrise and sunset right from the hotel and your room. Plan on staying at this Hilton again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Mike,

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad to hear that your stay with us has exceeded your expectations. We genuinely strive to ensure that every guest receives top-notch service and enjoys the amenities of our property. We look forward to having you back as our guest again, hopefully in the near future.

Thank you,
Gary Brielmayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is very classy and neat, and located in the select city of Sandestin. Once you get through the main gate, it is a nice and pleasant drive to the main lobby, overseeing the so-well manicured property. Most rooms have gulf view, and this resort boasts a few pool along side a nice open air restaurant. The beach is wide and shallow, the sand very soft, though it does not surpass the powdery sands of Longboat and siesta keys. I would recommend high floor, gulf front. Expensive, but very nice. Kids would also enjoy this resort as there is an area next to the pool that boats an ice cream and pizza place. Very safe !

Room Tip: high floor, gulf front [not just gulf view]
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Woyy,

We here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa appreciate the nice compliments you shared on Trip Advisor. In addition, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you return in the near future for another wonderful experience. In the mean time have a wonderful holiday weekend.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa
Destin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.