We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads Bar & Grill

Hammerheads Bar & Grill
138 Fisherman's Cove, Destin, FL 32550-1823
850-351-1996
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 240 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Below average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We had fish tacos, they were just OK, nothing to write home about. It took over an hour to get our food, and they weren't busy. I would have expected the food to be really good in the Baytowne Wharf, but was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    163
    66
    38
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“HORRIBLE Food and OVER PRICED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our first and LAST visit to this place. We made the mistake of assuming that because this place was on the resort it would be good, boy where we wrong. First off the only thing I will say that is good here are the drink prices, past that it went downhill. The food is so over priced it is unreal! We got the shrimp and oyster and the shrimp and fish fillet. All that plus on drink was $60. The meal was something like what you would find at Long John Silvers or Captian D's. I told the waitress I had a sever allergy and they totally ignored it when I brought it to the managers attention she smarted me off and just said well mistakes happen. This mistake could have killed me. Please dont waste you money at this place on their food it is not worth it.

PS. Do not let the pictures fool you about the food or the view. Most of the items on the menu do are not under $15. I have spoken to many people when at the resort and they have heard nothing but BAD things about this place. Please be sure to do your homework before eatting at any of the places on the resort. Your best bet is to venture out you will save yourself the irritation and money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Over-priced for mediocre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you like beach rustic at ridiculous prices, this is the place for you. Food was a disappointment for the price--$10 for a wedge salad that was short on all the key ingredients. Gumbo was tasty, but not much seafood. Wine was way over-priced. There are much better places to eat, drink and catch a nice sunset in Destin. Be prepared to get overheated if they sit you outside in the afternoon/early evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culinarylova, Manager at Hammerheads Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I have read your review and I am saddened that you did not enjoy your time with us. I would like a chance to make it up to you, if you will let us. My name is Violet Huggans and I am a manager at Hammerheads..please let us try again and change your mind. I would love to have you come in and ensure that you are satisfied. If you are interested and in the area please contact me at violet@tumulo,com. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go for drinks and sunset only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have eaten here twice and been disappointed both times with the food. VERY overpriced!!! BUT, it is a great place to listen to live music, watch the sunset and enjoy a cocktail.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culinarylova, Manager at Hammerheads Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I read your review and I am saddened that you did not enjoy your experience. I would like a chance to set it right if you are in the area again. My name is Violet Huggans and I am a manager at Hammerheads, If you are interested please contact me at violet
@tumulo.com. Thank you so much for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food was great but service was terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a group of 5 adults and 3 children and ate at 4 pm to be able to get back for football! It was miserable hot in the area they sat us. As the sun went down we were more and more in the sun. We were sat on the side for some reason where we couldn't see the football games on the TV even though we asked to be seated elsewhere. That was when we should have left. There was a drunk at the bar who argued loudly about her bil for more than 30 minutes. Our waiter couldn't seem to get it together. We had to get up and go into the bar to get our own ice for the melted down drinks. I had the shrimp tacos and they were great. The calimnari was pretty good. Everyone seemed to eat all their food so that was the upside. The kitchen was run well the front of the house needs work. Only outdoor seating no air conditioning which is a big deal inj 98 degree heat with 95% humidity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culinarylova, Manager at Hammerheads Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I have read your review and I am so sorry that this was not an enjoyable experience for you, if you would let us I would like the chance to make it up to you. I would love nothing more to create a new memory for you and your family. If you are interested please contact me at Violet
@tumulo.com. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads Bar & Grill also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hammerheads Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.