We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you don't care for highrises but want quality, stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dunes Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Dunes Condominium
Save
You added Silver Dunes Condominium to your Saves list
1030 Highway 98 East, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
indianapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“if you don't care for highrises but want quality, stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I selected this condo for a spring break trip with my 16 year old daughter and her friend, primarily because of the TA reviews and my desire not to stay in a high rise. Traveled from Indianapolis area which is 12.5 hours away unless there is a traffic issue.This property had all the features I wanted. Condo B1402 was extremely nicely decorated, clean, with view of both pool and ocean so I could keep an eye on my teens...gated and secure complex. I liked that there was daily towel exchange and maintenance support if needed, but if not needed, no bother. Location is excellent for dining and shopping east or west, with big box stores nearby for low priced essentials. Absolutely no noise even though it was spring break. If I had small kids and wanted to come to Destin, I would definitely come here because of the location: safety, amenities (washer/dryer in unit) and grassy area for play between pool and ocean.High rises are on both sides but are easily ignored. In this particular unit, wi-fi internet access was spotty but not an issue considering it was a vacation!

Room Tip: away from elevator (towards ocean).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to Silver Dunes for most of my life and can say with perfect confidence that you will absolutely love this place. Every condo is very meticulously cared for and cleaned. The front desk is first class in the willingness to help make your stay fantastic. The housekeeping staff is top notch. If you have a young child, they have cribs or other immenities that make it more convenient. Last but not least, George the beach attendant is the most knowledgable, hard working, and meticulous person you could ever want on the beach. He has spoiled me because anytime that I have gone to another beach the experience can never live up to how good of a job George does. He has the umbrellas ready as early as you could possibly want on the beach. He turns the umbrellas for you as the sun moves across the sky. (advice: don't move it yourself, he has a particular way of doing it and prefers to do it himself). He also has volleyballs and other activities that you might want to play on the beach. He is fairly priced. At the end of the day he hoists a cocktail flag to signify "it's 5 o'clock somewhere" and he begins taking down the umbrellas and chairs. Ask him anything about the weather. With over 25 years on the same beach, he has seen and knows it all. In terms of attractions around the resort, The Track and Big Kahuna are within walking distance. Both are a lot of fun. Also within walking distance is Chick-fil-a, the Back Porch, Waffle House, and many souvenir stores. Walmart and Food City for groceries are 5 min drives depending on traffic. There is a tennis court, pool, basketball hoop, outdoor grills and laundry room on site available for any guests use. This is all for now.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

I've been to the silver dunes 4 times and have stayed in 4 different condos and I was satisfied each time. The rooms are clean and spacious. It's nice staying in a place that only has 4 floors unlike all the other high rise buildings which totally take away from any natural feel that the beAch could possibly have. They have a pool (not heated). I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Every 2nd week of June my family & extended family & friends have a "Family Reunion" in Destin. Our family has been doing this for the past 30-35 years! This year, my immediate family shared a lot of first.....our first time to not share a condo with my parents and the first time I've ever had my own child to take on vacation with us! We had a lot of fun. Our Baby Girl was 4 weeks old when we visited this year!
Silver Dunes is always exceptionally welcoming & accomodating. I guess that's why we've been staying there as long as we have. We feel safe there & it's very family friendly!
Silver Dunes is right in the middle of everything - within walking distance of Big Kahunas (which is a family favorite & tradition), The Track (also, family favorite & tradition) and so many restaraunts.
The outside lawn area is perfect for games with family & friends....even friends you may meet on the trip! There have been a lot of memories made at Silver Dunes & I am looking forward to many more!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

We stay here every year. Very clean, great pool and you get the famous George! He has been here for 25+ years at least. Puts your chair and umbrellas up every morning and can predict the weather better than any weather man on tv. Great location as well.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We always stay here as the condo we stay in is owned by my husband's boss. It's a great location and great beaches. I feel very safe here and George down on the beach takes great care of his guests and knows everything there is to know about Destin.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Dunes Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dunes Condominium

Address: 1030 Highway 98 East, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully landscaped eight acre oasis is the hidden jewel found only at Silver Dunes Condominiums. Located at the emerald waters of Destin in the Panhandle of Florida, we invite you to join our family of friends.Begin your day with sunrise on our private beach of pearl white sand. Fill your days with championship deep sea fishing rodeos and charters, professionally designed golf courses or specialty shopping at our local boutiques. Four star dining or beach side eats is yours for the choosing. We all make memories. Let Silver Dunes make them memorable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dunes Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.