We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pizza!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
300 harbor boulevard east, Destin, FL 32541
+1 850-424-5795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: HOURS OF OPERATION: MONDAY 11 AM- 10 PM TUESDAY 11 AM- 10 PM WEDNESDAY 11 AM- 10 PM THURSDAY 11 AM- 10 PM FRIDAY 11 AM- 10 PM SATURDAY 11 AM- 10 PM SUNDAY 11 AM- 10 PM
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We've been to La Famiglia several times - always a treat. This time we decided to order a take out pizza. We got the Deep Dish Italian Sausage & Pepperoni pizza! Wow! I've eaten a lot of pizza in my time and I've got to say [no kidding] this has got to be in the top two! You can't beat real Italian sausage. And the Crust.... melted in your mouth! The staff always receives you with warm smiles and welcomes! This is the definitive pizza when we're in Destin! Simple and excellent!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    73
    36
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This is it!!! THE BEST Italian on the Gulf Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Looks like a dive on the outside but ignore it! Park in the back and go in the back (main entrance) door. Tony was our server and very helpful. We like a full bodied dry red wine and he suggested one that was a tad more expensive than what we were considering. The Capestrano he suggested was excellent and although it was a $30 bottle of wine, he gave us a 20% discount without even asking. We made one mistake and that was eating almost everything put in front of us. The Calamari was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Seriously we have decided to just go back and order only that, a bottle of the Capestrano and then maybe we can enjoy some of the delicious looking Tiramisu served to the table next to us. We both ordered one of the specials which is usually some of the best a restaurant has to offer. We were right. The Cioppino ($31.95) I had was a beautiful dish to start with, loaded with clams, muscles, calamari, shrimp and a lobster tail on top, spaghetti on the bottom all in a light tomato sauce . After cleaning the huge plate of Calamari there was no way to eat more than just the muscles, lobster and clams. I'm hoping the rest will still be good tomorrow night! The Pasta Stefania my husband had was in a very rich cream sauce but that didn't stop him from almost finishing his plate. At $15.95 it was loaded with bow tie pasta with mushrooms and sausage including Gorgonzola cheese. Our meals were also served with a small salad and the customary bread and infused olive oil. Those two items aren't anything special. The bread wasn't home make and a little dry (not very fresh) and the dressing on the salad was like a thousand island (not my fav). Our total after tip for the two of us was $88.51 so take your favorite dinner date for sure!
The only draw back was where we were sitting there was an annoying family of gnats that we kept trying to kill off (and were successful with about 4 of them) but all their cousins, aunts and uncles kept coming to see what we were eating!) No one else seemed to be swatting at the air like we were which to the rest of the patrons probably looked like we had some kind of movement disorder! Will not sit at the booth on the other side of the wall separating the bar next time! You have been warned.... :P

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacrest Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Little Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have return two more times (Jul and Aug) to La Famiglia after our first visit and review at the beginning of the summer. The first time our waiter (believe his name was Tony) forgot our water, then no bread, never returned until the food, with the salad being served at the same time. We ordered the trio pasta dish and it appeared on a long plate with three individual dishes....and we had to ask for our individual dinner plates. The food was tastey but less than warm. No we didn't turn it back, decided that it might get lost.

The second trip was much better, with better service and warmer food. It was tastey, but not nearly as good as our June trip. We will probably go back for their great deals of $6.95 lunch specials, but not for dinner.

If the cook changed from June please get her/him back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude Very Rude, Ravioli Tasted like Chef Boyarde”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Greg<our server was very rude, he did not appreciate us asking questions about the menu, isn't that his job? The ravioli sauce was runny, the alfredo was greasy the cream actually separated out. NOT IMPRESSED

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

A must for everyone who goes to Destin! This is an authentic Italian restaurant run by authentic Italians! Get the gnocchi or lobster ravioli.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.