We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treat at night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shake's Custard

Shake's Custard
1065 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL
(850) 269-1111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night
Winchester, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great treat at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First time ever eating ( or hearing of) custard, and it was awesome! Wonderful treat to have late night!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    59
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The best little ice cream and frozen custard stand I have visited in a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Awesome custard! My family had never had custard before going here and at first I Was not sure what I would think of it, but after a few bites I could tell we would be coming back to this place a few times on our trip! It was walking distnace from whre we stayed and that was what originally drew us to the place. Then we looked forward to going back each night after dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Custard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I highly recommend the "Turtle" concrete. Smooth and creamy! Love it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fast melting custard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We ordered a sundae to share between my wife and I. It comes in a basic drinking cup and was already melting down the sides of the cup when it was handed to us. It was such a mess to eat that it made us regret stopping there, and my wife loves ice cream, custard, etc. For $7 a pop, it seems they could at least make sure the custard is solid as it should be before serving it. We wouldn't go back here when there are other ice cream places in Destin to try.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake's Custard also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shake's Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake's Custard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.