We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cruise. Smiles all around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises

Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises
102 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541
850-654-7113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 127 Activities in Destin
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Olin Marler Charter Fishing and Dolphin Cruises is Destin's first established cruise service. We offer the best in Deep Sea Fishing and Dolphin Sightseeing cruises.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Cruise. Smiles all around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

They have glass bottom boats, to a certain existent. The cruise was nice and the captain went out of his way to make sure we saw dolphins. It started with a tour of the port and then capped with the dolphin sightings. While we did not see much in the way of dolphin, the cruise was still worth the trip to just go up and down the coast to see the sights. Charter a private boat and expect to pay over $500.00 dollars to see the same things. So take the family or your date and don’t look back or second guess your decision.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    25
    15
    5
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great family trip aboard the Hannah Marie. Kid friendly, interesting and fun. Kids got to captain the boat and the crew was very helpful with taking pictures and giving area information. The two hour tour was informative and we had a good time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They hate people and only want your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We paid for this dolphin cruise a month in advance. Since we were coming from Pensacola and they are 62 miles away, we left 1 1/2 hours early. I have traveled from my house to Destin over 100 times and I know that it should only be a 1 hour drive but we wanted to be cautious. As fate would have it some tourist crashed their car and traffic backed up accordingly. We called them immediately to let them know what had happened. They said they were holding the boat until 6:05 (It was scheduled to leave at 6:00) because we weren't the only people who had called because of the accident. While we were driving we called them to let them know we were pulling into the parking lot. It was 6:02 and they told us the boat was leaving. We explained to them that we were in the parking lot unloading our 3 1/2 old daughter and a 12 year old autistic child who had been talking about this trip for weeks. They told us the boat was about to leave and they couldn't stop it. We reminded them they had promised us they would hold the boat until 6:05 and they said "It's 6:02 and that is close enough." So, we drove 1 1/2 hours each direction with children and they refused to keep their word. Not only did we lose our money, they disapointed two young children that just wanted to see dolphins. These humans fail at life and fail at compassion. They are only concerned with taking your money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler4557, Front Office Manager at Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Tony.

First off, we definitely don't "Hate" people or "Want to take your money". We are very sorry for any confusion, but this doesn't sound like it would be something our company would do. We hold the boat for customers all the time up to 10 minutes at times. For us to not hold the boat for a few minutes doesn't sound realistic and we'll have to investigate this further. We are very sorry if you missed the cruise and we hope to have you back again soon to try us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dolphin cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The crew of the Hannah Marie was very friendly. The captain of this boat was determined that everyone on the boat got to see a dolphin before the trip was over. While there were several boats out on a dolphin cruise at the same time as us, our captain was the only one that really pursued the dolphins (after they were sighted) to make sure that everyone on board got to see them. We went on the sunset cruise, and it was spectacular. We got to see quite a few dolphins, and a great sunset. This cruise was well worth the money we paid for it. I definitely would recommend this cruise to everybody.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They canceled on us, and gave us only 15 minutes notice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We made a reservation for a dolphin cruise about a week in advance. We had 6 extremely excited children who had been looking forward to seeing dolphins for months. We live 50 minutes from Olin Marler, so we had to get an early start as our cruise was scheduled for 9 am. We were told to arrive at 8:30. At 8:15 (after we'd been driving for 45 minutes) I received a phone call from them say that they'd cancelled our cruise because they didn't have enough people signed up for it. Needless to say, we had a van full of very disappointed kids, and very unhappy adults.

Save yourself a headache and go with Souther Star cruises instead!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler4557, Front Office Manager at Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Lisa,

We are very sorry about having to cancel the cruise. Typically we give our customers at least an hours notice before the cruise leaves so I'm not sure it was 15 minutes. This is not the norm for us and I was told everyone was called at least an hour before on this trip. Keep in mind that other dolphin cruises will cancel due to low participation as well, even the Southern Star. If you had a long drive ahead of you, it's best to call and confirm the trip regardless in case there is also weather delays. We hope you would consider again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olin Marler Fishing and Dolphin Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.