We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Reno badly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
White Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Needs Reno badly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I give this Hotel an average because of the staff here. Desk staff and breakfast room staff were very nice and accommodating. Also, the rooms are larger than normal, and the bed was comfy.

That said, the furnishings were old, worn and tired. One day they didn't clean the room and I had to ask the desk staff for towels, which were brought and wastebaskets emptied. Also has to call the maint guy since the drain in the sink didn't work (which he replaced), Also the toilet ran and had to jiggle the handle to stop it and the tank top didn't fit properly . Carpeting could have used cleaning also. We were annoyed by constant smoke from the adjoining rooms, very few non smoking and non avail for us even tho our reservation requested non-smoking. Neighbors were really noisy the first night and had to call desk to shut them down at 1am. Many families on the floor with several kids in each room so noise was a problem That said, we were travelling with a baby, so...shouldn't complain too much about kids.

The hotel is really conveniently located and reasonably priced for the area.

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking room if you want one. Smoke travels from room to room. We stuffed a towels u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a king suite - bedroom with a king bed, bedroom door, then a separate area with a pull-out couch, refrigerator (very small), microwave, counter top and sink. The bathroom was in a separate area as well. The bedroom door was thick and there were black out curtain liners, so it was very dark and quiet. Our kids slept on the pull out couch. It was fine for kids, but the mattress was thin and it would be very uncomfortable for adults.

The breakfast was better than most two star hotels. They had one waffle iron (they really need at least two and probably 3 or 4). Most of the time, it was a 10-minute wait to make your waffle. They also had hard boiled eggs, cereals, pastries, etc... The hot items varied by day - either scrambled eggs, sausage, omelets, french toast sticks, etc...

The hotel staff looked overworked. If you started a conversation with them, they were very friendly, but at first glance they just looked unhappy or angry.

Our room was clean, but it is starting to show wear and tear.

The pool was a good size, clean, and my kids had a great time. The hot tub wasn't very inviting.

The hotel is also in a great location. Very close to the beach as well as Publix, Walmart, and a bunch of restaurants.

The only negative was booking through Hotwire. The Hotwire rate ended up being more than the hotel rate. Hotwire has really gone down hill over the last couple of years. I need to learn my lesson and stop using them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel both when it was a Country Inn and Suites and now White Sands Inn and Suites. It is badly in need of an update and renovations to bring it back to its original standards. It's location is excellent for going to Crystal Beach, the Destin Commons, and is very central to both the Destin harbor area to the West and Sandestin and 30A to the East. We were told that it is going to be converted to a Best Western Plus hotel so hopefully the needed renovations will soon be made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the end of the hall for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae S, General Manager at White Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I just wanted to share with you that we will be undergoing a complete renovation in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family stayed here May 25th for one night for our 1 year anniversary. This used to be a Country Inns and Suites hotel so I knew what to expect when we arrived. The room had a separate bedroom with a king size bed and included a mini fridge, microwave and pull out sofa for the kids with their own TV. The room was clean and the location was near the beach, shopping malls and restaurants. The hotel staff was responsive and courteous as well. There was some minor cosmetic issues with the room's bathroom door that could use a little repair but that did not warrant a negative review. If you're looking for a centrally located hotel for a reasonable price for a family of 4, this is the place you want to stay at. I would stay here again in the future. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 which was located right across from the elevator and close to the vending mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night over Memorial Day. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was serviceable. The location is very good, right at the intersection of Hwy 98 and the Mid-Bay Bridge. The price (under $100 with tax) was definitely right, especially for the holiday weekend. My only real complaints were that one of the bed frames squeaked and the bathroom could have really used some paint and spackle. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Another co-worker and I stayed at this hotel for a two-day installation. I actually found this place during our first trip down here and had the company office manager look into it. It was a great location-convenient to everything (restaurants, lounges, beach, grocery, attractions). The price was also better than other area hotels. The rooms were clean, service was good, and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,KY
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here on a friday night before checkin on Saturday to our condo on Miramar beach. Worked out alot better than staying away from Destin. The room was fine , breakfast good and convienient location by Destin Commons on 98. Price was decent , about $100. We probably will stay here again next year. Gives us more time to explore the night and day before we checkin on Saturday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full complimentary hot deluxe breakfast with rotating menu, heated pool, fitness center, 5 minute drive to the closest public beach access. It is easy to pass the day on the outdoor patio at the White Sands Inn & Suites of Destin. The heated pool and hot tub are surrounded by greenery and comfortable seating. Complimentary cookies and coffee available 24/7. The hotel also makes a great base camp for visiting local attractions, including award-winning golf courses and white-sand beaches. Its rooms and suites are clean. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shopping, adjacent to Shops at Paradise Keys shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Hotwire so you can book your White Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.