We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Destin
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in late June 2012 on our way to New Orleans. The hotel is in a good location close to shopping outlets and restaurants. Check in was quick and our room was quite nice although the decoration was a bit tired. The room and bathroom had everything we required. We drove a short distance to the Henderson state park beach shortly after arriving and were pleasantly surprised how nice and well kept the beach was in the middle of a built up area. Because we were at the beach for a couple of hours we gave the hotel pool a miss but it appeared quite nice. After shopping for a few hours (a number of shops are within walking distance if you didn't have a car), we went for an evening meal. We choose TGI Fridays which is less than 100 meters from the hotel, which allowed me to have a couple of drinks without driving. The meal exceeded our expectations and the service was also very good. The breakfast was the usual fare for country inns and set us up well for the journey ahead. The breakfast area was kept well stocked and clean. If we returned to destin, and we would definitely like to, we would certainly consider this hotel. Whilst it is not the best hotel you will stay in, the location is excellent and the price for this area is hard to beat. At least this was our experience as it was around 40 percentage cheaper than other comparable hotels near the coast. I would however stay in a more luxurious hotel if we were staying 3-4 nights or longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here hoping for a nice simple place to rest overnight while we enjoyed the area. Even if we could ignore the springy bed, the shower curtain falling off, and the chunks of dust balls in the fans and vents, we could not do so with the multiple parties in the rooms around us. The front desk staff was nice enough to intervene for us on one occasion earlier in the night, but by 2:30 am I realized that 1) we were in the minority as far as wanting to sleep, and 2) the walls were paper thin so we were out of luck if we were looking for quiet. If not iPods blasting or drunks yelling, it would be TVs blaring or doors slamming.

Very disappointing overall for an "executive king" room upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiroduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful rooms, clean and friendly employees! Great location and the breakfast are yummy! TFI Fridays is right next door and will provide room service. Nice after being on the beach all day. The heated pool and spa feels good in the evening after a full day shopping at the Silver Sands Outlet Mall.

Room Tip: The large suites 215 and 315 are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonnaKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good central location near the mid bay bridge. Close to the beach, but not really walking distance due to the high traffic in the area. Clean rooms and nice lobby. Above average hot breakfast. The bed was a little saggy on the side, but overall a nice room.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south side have a Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keylimepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This Country Inn & Suites is located on the north side of Hwy 98 near restaurants, grocery store, etc. It is a short walk from the Destin Commons shopping area. It would be a long walk to the beach - if that is your destination (no pun intended).
The suites are two rooms and a bathroom. The bedroom of my unit had a king size bed, dresser, flat-screen TV, and two nightstands. It has two smaller closet alcoves. The bath has a tub and shower and one sink. The second room has a pullout couch, small table, dresser with flat-screen TV, chair and wet bar with small fridge.
The rooms need renovation. Frankly they are beat up. The bathroom was very well cleaned so I think they are doing their best. The bed and linens were very comfortable.
Breakfast is on the cheap side for chain hotels that include breakfast. I think a lot of the hot items must be pre-made and heated. It's ok and it's convenient.

Room Tip: You can walk up the center staircase to the rooms on the 2nd floor. The back rooms face the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCR_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I can't find anything I really liked about this place, except for the friendly people at check-in. I would not choose to stay here again. Our 'suite' is in desperate need of updating. Dim lighting, peeling wall paper and it just felt old and yuk. Even the cookies tasted old and stale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemsonjenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel on Priceline as an express buy for a family vacation to Destin because the hotel offered breakfast and free parking, so it was a very good value. They also have a heated pool and hot tub as well as a gym with a few pieces of equipment. The breakfast was very good, including eggs, sausage, potatos and more. The rooms have flat screen tvs, very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a hair dryer and nightlight. They offer complimentary daily paper, including the Destin paper on Sundays. Cookies, including fresh baked ones, are available in the evenings, and coffee and tea around the clock. They even have a library of books in the lobby for those who need reading material. The front desk clerk was very helpful and patient when I asked her about restarants. The room was very clean except we found a previous customer's dirty socks under the bed as we were checking the room before we left.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#7 of 40 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing