We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service and comfort technically better than average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added White Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
White Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 hotels in Destin
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“service and comfort technically better than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Country Inn & Suites in Destin, Florida is conveniently located. I loved that I could walk to Publix for groceries, go shopping at the mall, and visit the beach easily from this hotel. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The cookies were not what I expected (I thought they would be fresh baked cookies) but one of the nights a batch of fresh cookies were baked; my family and I really enjoyed this feature. It would be a nice touch if they were fresh baked throughout the day vs the cookie jar of what seemed to be store-bought "just okay" cookies. I booked two rooms to be right next to each other but initially our rooms where divided by the the staircase. Day two of our stay the staff contacted our boys room to indicate they would have to be moved to another room due to work scheduled in the room. Once we went to discuss the changes with the desk staff they ended up giving us a suite and we gave our room to our boys. This hotel is in desperate need of updates. I would still stay here again but I would love to see the interior refreshed by the next time we do. The tired and worn fixtures/decor is the only reason I give this hotel an average review. We booked this room through Priceline name your own price. I initially was a little concerned once the bid was awarded based on the pictures and reviews but end the end we all had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MInneapolis
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is located about 4 blocks from the beach, at walking distance. The hotel is easy to reach when you enter Destin crossing the new bridge. It is surrounded by a nice shopping area and in front of a golf course. You find a Publix grocery store near the hotel as well as a Wallgreens, several restaurants, cinema, etc all at walking distance. Now that I've been to Destin, I would like to stay in a hotel at the beach, because most of the beaches are private, meaning that you don't have free access to any place at the beach, you have to enter via one of the several public entrances. The notel offers free breakfast which is something that my wife and I like. The swimming pool is nice as well as the spa. The fitness room is bad. The internet connection is slow. Although it is clean, the hotel shows signs of aging, I've been to better Country Inns but this one is still at an acceptable level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Close enough to the harbor to drive and catch the action, but far enough away to be quiet. The beach was very close and there were great restaurants in our vicinity. The staff was exceptionally accomodating, and the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALABASTER
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Business travel can be a pain but this place makes up for it. This place is quiet, nice pool, very clean, good beds, good internet, staff is friendly, polite and helpful, good location. Added perk is the free breakfast. Not the standard continental, a real breakfast with real hot eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Hope all Country Inns are this great because it's my new choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Lobby has a wide staircase to all floors so you don't have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were looking for a hotel to stay at for a first trip to Destin. The Country Inn and Suites had decent pricing and decent reviews. The hotel is not located on the beach nor has a beach view. However, everywhere hotel in Destin is within a short driving distance to the public beaches.

We stayed on the second level. The room was clean and the mattresses firm. The bathroom door did not lock. But the mini fridge was great for keeping our beverages cool.


The wi-fi never did work while we stayed there. However, there was a public access computer that you could use in the lobby. The most frustrating part of our experience was waiting almost every morning for the lady who was suppose to be running the breakfast center to get off her facebook. I think having an employee using the public access computer to surf facebook while making guests wait and not doing their own job is very unprofessional.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. I expected it to be average. Our next trip we plan to spend a little more and stay at a beach front hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second of three levels. It was alright. Maybe the third floor may be better, but pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family recent took a short trip over to Destin for a last bit of summer fun.

This hotel was conveniently located near the Destin Commons with plenty of other shopping & restaurants right near by.

The hotel was clean and the rooms were roomy & comfortable.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, but, it was free, so who can complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all, I reserved 2 rooms with 2 beds on-line and when we went to check in they did not have my reservation. Thankfully, they did have king suites available and although we needed rooms with 2 beds, it all worked out just fine. This is a clean hotel. The entire place needs a makeover but I'd rather stay somewhere clean and outdated that updated and dirty. The prices were reasonable compared to others in the area which is why we chose this hotel.

The breakfast was good.

** As a side note, I left a nightlight in the bathroom of my room. When I realized this, I called and the desk clerk went to look to see if she could find it and called me back. She did indeed find it but when we stopped to pick it up, it was nowhere to be found. Hmmm! It was not an expensive nightlight but I found it interesting how quickly it was lost all over again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the building overlook a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Address: 4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full complimentary hot deluxe breakfast with rotating menu, heated pool, fitness center, 5 minute drive to the closest public beach access. It is easy to pass the day on the outdoor patio at the White Sands Inn & Suites of Destin. The heated pool and hot tub are surrounded by greenery and comfortable seating. Complimentary cookies and coffee available 24/7. The hotel also makes a great base camp for visiting local attractions, including award-winning golf courses and white-sand beaches. Its rooms and suites are clean. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shopping, adjacent to Shops at Paradise Keys shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your White Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.