We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added White Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family recent took a short trip over to Destin for a last bit of summer fun.

This hotel was conveniently located near the Destin Commons with plenty of other shopping & restaurants right near by.

The hotel was clean and the rooms were roomy & comfortable.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, but, it was free, so who can complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
41
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all, I reserved 2 rooms with 2 beds on-line and when we went to check in they did not have my reservation. Thankfully, they did have king suites available and although we needed rooms with 2 beds, it all worked out just fine. This is a clean hotel. The entire place needs a makeover but I'd rather stay somewhere clean and outdated that updated and dirty. The prices were reasonable compared to others in the area which is why we chose this hotel.

The breakfast was good.

** As a side note, I left a nightlight in the bathroom of my room. When I realized this, I called and the desk clerk went to look to see if she could find it and called me back. She did indeed find it but when we stopped to pick it up, it was nowhere to be found. Hmmm! It was not an expensive nightlight but I found it interesting how quickly it was lost all over again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the building overlook a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is showing its age. We ususally stay at the Marriott but we got a good price in fact free. We joined the points reward program and earned enough points for a free stay.

The upgraded us to a king size suite so "Whats not to Like". O.K.

I like the convenience of the restaurants right across the street, T.G.I.F. but the Wine store was the "Best". Very classy.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a suite. If the hotel is not full they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is showing its age. We were expecting a bright lobby and a better room, however both were sorely lacking. Not what we expected from a Country Inn. Booking a room was easy and quick over the phone. Cnfirmation email within minutes. Checking in was less than 5 minutes. The price was reasonable and fit within out budget. The free breakfast was okay, nothing fancy but just enough to start your day. Counter staff were extremely helpful in giving us directions in finding the beaches and places to eat. The hotel itself is located in an ideal location, not too far from the beach and from restaurants or shopping which was a plus for us. We do hope they renovate this place and spruce it up.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel is fine. Ok. Like others have said, hotel is getting a little older and age is showing. Light fixtures missing covers/domes. Cracks in walls, peelling paint, slight odor, etc. First room we went too... the sheets had not been changed.. Hair and crums in the sheets.. Gross.. Umph?? what else had not been cleaned properly?? Staff was very nice and moved us to better room..
Breakfast was pretty good.. no complaints.. Price was a little high for quality even in peak season.
$155/nite July.. But still less than some other hotels. I'd say worth about $125/nite high season and perhaps $80/nite low season.. Thats just my opinion. Not too bad. Gym is a joke.

Room Tip: use walk in rate coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Checked in 7/20-7/23, first night they had us in a room that smelled like wet rags. So exhausted for our road trip we didn't mind. Woke up in the morning and asked to be moved rooms which they did. Continental breakfast was not that great. Ive stayed at a Country Inn before for other family vacations and this hotels breakfast was not appetizing but my kids were hungry and ate whatever was there (Eggs, sausage links, cereal, muffins, waffles). Location is 5 blocks from the nearest public beach entrance and that public beach is small, you will have to drive a distance to get a good spot. Had to drive a minimum of 2 miles everywhere for a decent meal. I wouldn't recommend this hotel based on location only or food. I stayed only because we decided destin at the last moment & hotels were completely booked. The only reason I give this hotel 3 stars is that they did not charge us for the first night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in Destin, within a short drive/long walk to the beach. Hotel is good, but not great. Staff is very friendly, especially housekeeping and breakfast staff. Breakfast was pretty good(sausage links, egg patties, grits, fried potatoes, sausage gravy on alternating days), but get there early before the rush! Exterior: the rear of the building needs to be pressure washed as it has mold all over it. The AC in the room worked very well, and would freeze you out! Overall, not a bad experience. Hotel is not a dump, but it's no Ritz Carlton either. A little pricey, but that is to be expected during peak travel season.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full complimentary hot deluxe breakfast with rotating menu, heated pool, fitness center, 5 minute drive to the closest public beach access. It is easy to pass the day on the outdoor patio at the White Sands Inn & Suites of Destin. The heated pool and hot tub are surrounded by greenery and comfortable seating. Complimentary cookies and coffee available 24/7. The hotel also makes a great base camp for visiting local attractions, including award-winning golf courses and white-sand beaches. Its rooms and suites are clean. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shopping, adjacent to Shops at Paradise Keys shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your White Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.