We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds at Sandestin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westwinds at Sandestin
Save
You added Westwinds at Sandestin to your Saves list
9300 Hwy 98 W., Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed in 3 Bedroom Condo on an upper floor. It was a little pricey and had a wonderful view from the balcony. We stayed one week. The staff was nice. The pro's were the great location, walking and bike trails, heated pool at Westwinds, golf courses (good deals) in Sandestin, and even took my two girls fishing on the dock, where they caught some redfish and trout. Pricing was a little high. In November, it's quiet. Most of the restuarants were slow and many area stores were closed. The pool snack bar was closed the entire time, so you have to go off the condo property for meals. The furniture was a little beat up and the dresser was broken. Our dryer started smoking, setting off the fire alarm, and we got stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes. The room does not include cleaning service, so you have to pay extra for that. It was hard to find a beach attendant to rent chairs ... took 3 days before one showed up. We did it once during the week. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend it.

I'd suggest checking out the Wharf ... kids loved it. Had an ice skating rink, zip line over a small lake, roped courses and tons of good places to eat and drink.

Favorite off property restaurant was Stinky's off 30A. Strongly suggest the Stinky Stew.... no kidding.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Pros:
On the second floor parking level so no need to use elevator.
Pool and Fitness room access is on the same floor and very easy to get to.
Gulf front view (although you are on the second floor, so it isn't panoramic)
Washer/Dryer in room, beach chairs and umbrella in room - very nice to have.
All appliances worked well and the layout is good (rooms separated by kitchen and living area).
Love the keyless entry
Westwinds is a nice building. Public areas are cleaned daily.
Air conditioner works great.
Nice granite counters in kitchen.
Comfortable leather couch and chairs in living area.
Paved trail system that goes from gulf side all the way over to Baytowne (2 miles one way). Great for running, walking or biking.
Close to good restaurants, shopping and all the area has to offer.
Baytowne is a great place for the family to hang out, eat and be entertained.

Cons:
Master bedroom can be noisy because window is by the pool.
View is a little restricted because of low floor and the lattice that goes out over the fitness room/pool area
The condo was not very clean. Carpet and rugs really dirty. Showers had mildew, one of them lots of mildew. ( I did call to complain about this and they showed up probably within the hour to clean it on a Sunday, that was awesome.)
Bathrooms need updated.
The area Westwind guests are allowed to use on the beach can get very crowded. You are not allowed to sit across the rope line on either side of Westwinds designated beach area even if not one person is out on the beach.
Treadmills are very loud! Only two of them. But, at least they had something...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We recently stayed at the Westwinds condo tower for a long weekend getaway with our son, who is 2 1/2 years old. We rented a 1 bedroom condo, which was surprisingly spacious and accommodated our family quite well. Here are the pros and cons of our trip:
Pros: LOVED the location-you can't beat being right on the beach. We had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean, and even saw dolphins swimming one morning! The room was clean when we arrived, and was a little plain, but everything worked fine. We opted to stay in a "classic" room rather than a "premier" room, so the premier rooms may be a little nicer, but ours suited us just fine. The pool was nice, and heated so it wasn't too cold to swim. There was a little bar at the pool area that served drinks and snack type items, and the food was good, although quite pricey. We took the tram around the resort a couple of times, which was very handy. We also tried out the bicycles, which was fun, and biked into the Village area to look around one afternoon. The bicycle rental guy was really friendly and helpful.
Cons: The front desk check-in attendant was not too friendly towards my husband, as we arrived early and our room was not ready yet. She gave my husband some attitude about us arriving so early. Housekeeping never came back to the room. We were informed of this before the trip began, so it wasn't a problem, but for those liking fresh towels or a cleaned up room, beware. Everything on the resort is expensive! To cut down on some costs, we fixed a couple of meals in the room, but if you plan on eating out, be sure to factor that into your budget! We ate at FINZ restaurant for lunch one day and paid almost $80 for a cheeseburger, a salad with fish, a kids meal, and 2 drinks!
Overall we had a great time, and I would absolutely recommend this property and would stay here again if we went back to Destin. The beach and the property were beautiful and well maintained, and overall we were very impressed.
Cons:

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I recently stayed at the Westwinds in unit 4706. This facility is beautiful. It is very secure (guard at front gate, have to have keycode to get anywhere on the property, cameras, etc.). Unit 4706 had everything we needed. However, it really could use an update as far as decor and small things. The pool is huge, very clean and super nice. The beach area in front of the hotel is very nice. All in all, I would definitely stay at the Westwinds again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We've been traveling to Sandestin every July for most of the past 10 years, and have stayed at Westwinds for all but one of those visits. (We stayed in Seaside for the other visit, which is another great place to stay.) On the most recent visit we found that Westwinds continues to deliver great value for a family beach vacation. My daughter (almost 12) prefers the pool area, while my son (14) prefers the beach. Westwind's location gave us the option to keep both of them happy.

The property is fine, and is a good value for the money. It's hard to go wrong with rooms: the lower floors give you the option of using the stairs and avoiding the elevators, while the upper floors give you better views of the gulf and a little less pool noise. Either way, we recommend renting directly through Sandestin in order to get the resort amenities card - it gives you access to the tennis complex, kayaks, parasailing, sailing, miniature golf, etc. We used each of these during our week, and it made all the difference. (When we stayed in Seaside we didn't have the card, and consequently didn't have as many recreation opportunities.) A full kitchen and a full-size washer & dryer help make our vacation as smooth as possible. (Note: unless you want to see major damage to your credit card, be careful with the poolside food & drink service; a frozen margarita for me and a smoothie for my daughter ran close to $20 after tip. There is no problem with coolers, so I recommend a visit to the wine/liquor store in the Grand Avenue market, a mile or so east of the resort.)

Dining has improved significantly over the past 10 years, but 2 restaurants are worthy of special mention for their continuing excellence. Seagars in the HIlton hotel is a real gem, a 1st-class NY steakhouse within walking distance of Westwinds. My bone-in ribeye was incredible, and DO NOT under any circumstances skip the bananas foster! Our second recommendation is Vin Tij, a small wine store and restaurant on US-98 about 1 mile west of the resort. The crowd, if you can call 9 or 10 tables a crowd, is mostly made up of locals and long-time visitors. Fresh seafood and a very reasonable corkage fee (I believe it's $5, although you can also select a bottle from their excellent selection) make for a very pleasant experience without the feeling that you've been ripped off by a 100% markup on a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at Westwinds 4820 2 weeks ago and it was really awesome. It is a very well kept property, lots of security, and the beach was just perfect. Our condo was 2 bed, 2.5 baths, spacious with beautiful furnishings and a huge kitchen. We really had everything you could want. It was spring break, so things were busy. I'm embarrassed to say that we didn't even get into Destin, Bass Pro was as far as we got. The traffic on 98 was terrible so that was a downer. But, the resort was so nice that we didn't really want to leave. We didn't have an amenity card so we couldn't ride the shuttle; sometimes that would have been nice. We also couldn't book a tennis court, which I didn't really expect. So, we went down the road a piece to Seascape and got a court there. We also rented bikes for the week from bikes-r-us, which was really convenient as they bring them to you.

  • Liked — Gorgeous condo, awesome beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our company holds their annual meeting at Westwinds and as a result have stayed at the property many times. Their are pros and cons as listed:

The Good:

The resort is well located and their are many things to enjoy and do. Lots of great restaurants and bars and as other reviews have mentioned, the Broken Egg is not to be missed for breakfast.

Property and resort are well maintained for the most part, however,some of the condos at Westwinds are beginning to show their age.

Outstanding views of the gulf from higher floors.

Beautiful and clean pool, beachside.

Beautiful and well maintained grounds throughout the resort.

One of the most beautiful stretches of beach in Florida

The Bad:

Very poor service, called the front desk one morning to ask where the gym was and no one could tell me. The woman kept saying "don't you see any signs" (it was on the first floor by the pool)

Was showering one morning and the water went off for about 10 seconds while I was washing my face. Understand this happens to people on higher floors.

Went to shower one evening before a function and their was NO water. Called the desk and they said it would be out for an hour or two. They suggested I drive to the gym and shower there.

Poor housekeeping....dropped something that rolled under the sofa and pulled it out. Full of dead bugs and food and ???

This is a beautiful place...they just need to pay attention to some of the service issues. I would stay at this property again.

  • Liked — beautiful location`
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwinds at Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds at Sandestin

Address: 9300 Hwy 98 W., Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Westwinds At Sandestin Hotel Destin
Westwinds Sandestin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwinds at Sandestin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.