We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ

Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ to your Saves list
Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ
9011 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at this resort for three nights in one of the condos (2 br 2.5 bath) next to the fitness center. The rooms were small but clean. It had a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The washer made a very loud banging noise. The shuttle access around the property was nice and air conditioned. The beach was beautiful. The umbrellas and chairs are $28 a day. Make sure you reserve them early. The pools are clean. There is no shade near the pools. We do not play tennis, but the courts were well cared for and seemed to be popular with other guests. We took flashlights to the beach at night to find crabs with the kids. Overall it was a nice place to stay in the Destin area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

First day of our 7 day trip. Check in was easy and the staff was courteous and efficient. The condo is roomy and has granite countertops and new travertine floors. The condo is clean but so many small things leave me feeling.......exactly as I titled this review, disappointed. All of the mattress and linens are really worn and saggy. The carpets while clean are terribly stained. The sofa is a solid two years past its prime ( and I get that as a rental things take tons of wear but these are overdue). The dishes and bath linens are in great shape and plentiful. The furnishings otherwise great.
The pool areas are just as the condo, many things well done but lots of areas where it is just time for replacement or refreshing. This morning the beach was filthy and 80% of the trash receptacles I saw are over flowing? I just don't get that. I suppose over all I would say that it feels like there is very little attention to the "details" and in travel and hospitality the details are what separate the ok from the great.
We stayed here two years ago and maybe it is just the difference in individual units. Tons of good and potential, but just hasn't come together with my expectations based on the money we spent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Overall we had a nice time. The villa we stayed in was very nice, only thing was we booked it through Booking.com and we did not receive the bedding accomodations that we booked.We were told through one of their representatives that the bedding was not guaranteed. It was not the fault of the hotel because their service was great. The villa was very comfortable . Great for a family vacation too!

Room Tip: They have a shuttle on the property, so i doubt any room would be bad as far as getting around the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay in a newly renovated, 3 bd 3 bath in the Summit. It is beautiful and has every amenity. The check in is easy if you rent through Resort Quest who manages the property. I have had a few tennis lessons from Joe and my daughter has taken from Sam and they are both great coaches. The food at the pool is really good and they have added several good items this year. Most beautiful beaches in the world and Topsl is not too crowded. There are two building right on the beach, beach Manor and Tides. The Summit is just off the beach on the forest preserve but you just walk across a parking lot to get to the beach or take the tram. It is a little less expensive at the Summit than the other two buildings. We have stayed in them all and all wonderful. I would suggest renting a platinum level condo so you get one of the newly renovated ones. Ask about the difference in the different levels when booking. The bar at the pool is big, beautiful and fun too! We love Topsl!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have for 10 years been winter guests at Tops'l Beach Resort. We have found this to be one of the finest facilities on the beaches of Northwest Florida primarily because of services available in the Fitness Center of the Resort. This year was particularly satisfying because I was able to use handicap access to the heated pool of the Club to expedite healing from foot surgery. exercise essential for my recovery. If we could, we would give this resort seven stars!

Room Tip: Services are best accessible through units managed by Resortquest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Live loud bands Friday and Saturday nightt at poolside till late. With lots of drunk people yelling and staggering around. No secuity avaiable. We Booked through VRBO. The management here should be ashamed of themselves promotng this as a family resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Travelers beware. I'm not sure who coined this as the "Emeral Coast", but this beach is nothing more than swampy seaweed soup. There is no white sand; just smelly brocali coated dirt. Locals will try and tell you this is a recent, temporary problem. However, research shows this is a lingering issue, and they are simply desparate for tourism dollars. I rode my bike east 30 miles, and the sewage spill was just as bad, if not worse. The pools at Topsl are nothing more than aging, less than average community fares, not reaching 4 ft deep. Save your money, and avoid the never-ending bumper-to-bumper traffic and go to the Carribean or South FL. (pardon my typos; using my cell as wifi is down)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ

Address: 9011 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.