We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't visit here on a weekend.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ

Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ to your Saves list
Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ
9011 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Destin
1 review
“Don't visit here on a weekend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Live loud bands Friday and Saturday nightt at poolside till late. With lots of drunk people yelling and staggering around. No secuity avaiable. We Booked through VRBO. The management here should be ashamed of themselves promotng this as a family resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Travelers beware. I'm not sure who coined this as the "Emeral Coast", but this beach is nothing more than swampy seaweed soup. There is no white sand; just smelly brocali coated dirt. Locals will try and tell you this is a recent, temporary problem. However, research shows this is a lingering issue, and they are simply desparate for tourism dollars. I rode my bike east 30 miles, and the sewage spill was just as bad, if not worse. The pools at Topsl are nothing more than aging, less than average community fares, not reaching 4 ft deep. Save your money, and avoid the never-ending bumper-to-bumper traffic and go to the Carribean or South FL. (pardon my typos; using my cell as wifi is down)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Took the family in June for a weeks vacation in Destin. After much research and reading of reviews we chose a two bedroom condo at Topsl based on price and reviews. Also chose it because it is a condo with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. Which can save you a lot if you eat some meals at there. We stayed five nights in the Beach Manor. One of I believe five properties on this huge resort. You will pay more to stay on the beach front properties but in my opinion worth it due to the great views and short distances to the beach. Our room was nice. A little gaudy with its beach themed furniture, but what else would you expect? Furniture was very comfortable and well arranged. The kitchen was very small with a mixture of new and old appliances. Even had a trash compactor.(circa 1980). Of course it probably hasnt worked in years. There was an adequate amount of dishes and pans. However most of it felt like it was from the Dollar Store. We actually had to buy a cheap nonstick skillet from Walmart becase you couldnt cook anything in the cheap pans without it sticking! They give you a minimal amount of supplies. i.e. paper towels, detergent, toilet paper etc. You will have to go to the store, but there is a Publix and a Walmart very close by. The master bedroom was great with an awesome view and patio access. Our patio however was not near as big as the ones we viewed on the website. It was very crowded with only four people on it. The second bedroom was pretty small with two twin beds. The unit had two bathrooms as well. The unit was clean with one big exception. The all tile floor was pretty dirty. You wont realize it at first, but if you walk barefooted or with socks on you will soon find out! The bottoms of our feet where BLACK! This is a condo so there is no daily maid service, but you will pay a cleaning fee when you check in. Dont let my nitpicking discourage you. We still loved it! I liked tha fact that the entrance doors are keyless so your not having to keep up with room cards everytime you leave. The rest of the resort was fabulous.Well kept for an older resort and amazing landscaping. There are pools everwhere. My fvaorite was the one right above the beach. Very nice with a tiki bar and snackbar right next to it. The snack bar was a bit pricy, but not bad. Look at your bill closely as it will include a gratuity and resort fee. Jacking up the price even more. It also has daily activites for the kids. Of course if youre there for the tennis, well theres plenty of courts and a very nice workout facility. The beach is fantastic. Just like the pictures! Emerald green water with sugar white sand. Very clean, just beautiful. One of our contries treasures for sure!

Room Tip: Pay more for a room in one of the beachfront condos. Even if you dont choose one with a beach view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent eleven nights at the end of July at the TOPS'L Beach Manor and it was wonderful! My husband, daughter, and two toddler grandchildren shared a two bedroom, two bathroom condo on the fifth floor. We had a beautiful view of the beach from the balcony of a beautiful and very clean unit in Beach Manor, which is directly on the beach. We had a master bathtub draining issue the first night, which was taken care of promptly, and internet connection was spotty several times but, aside from these issues, the accommodations were wonderful! My husband attended two conventions next door at the Sandestin Hilton during this time period and the very short walk next door was well worth the comfort and convenience of staying in a condo as opposed to a hotel room FOR LESS MONEY! We had access to the smaller, quiet pool at Beach Manor (better for young children) and the large pools at the TOPS'L TIdes, right down the walkway. The Tides pools boast a grill and poolside bar, which was also convenient. By staying at a TOPS'L resort, we had access to numerous pools, tennis courts, fishing ponds, bike trails, free putt putt, free movie rentals, etc., etc., etc. I can't say enough good things about our stay at Beach Manor -- it was all we'd expected plus a lot more! We'll definitely stay there again next summer during these conventions!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms available online. There are pictures of the units -- that's how we selected o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at TOPSL the last week in June for our anniversary trip. A good friend owned a unit in the Summit building and let us rent it for the week. This is a high rise condo building and each of the three high rises has their own pool. The Summit is the furthest from the beach and overlooks a forest down below. There is a very short walk down to the ocean. There is a pool near the ocean that also has a restaurant and a place that sells alcoholic drinks. They do not accept cash; only credit cards. The food and drinks are reasonably priced and excellent. You can also rent two chairs and an umbrella for $26 per day or some folks bring their own. To your immediate right of TOPSL is The Hilton. On your left are a few private beach homes and then a state park. You will see a mega mansion on the property next to the state park which belongs to Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones. Unbelievable house! TOPSL is conveniently located to Baytown Village, outlet shopping, etc. I would highly recommend staying at this fine property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We chose Tops'l based on a great 2-night package deal from ResortQuest, during which a free "Back to the Beach" concert was being held nearby. The resort is gated and a top tennis destination, with several courts hidden among the various hotels and other places to stay. It's really like a lush tropical community. Our particular "hotel" wasn't on the beach but a pleasant walk down a hill got you there with ease. There was a beautiful view of a large grove of trees and the beach beyond from our 10th-floor studio condo. The studio was small but well planned, with very nice furnishings and a huge bathroom complete with giant whirlpool tub and separate shower. No room for much cooking (only a microwave and small fridge), but it suited our needs fine. Oh, and the beach was great--no oil in sight! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

The tennis center, the tennis director, and the front desk staff were excellent. We enjoyed the clinics, the round robins, and the facilities and were welcomed and made to feel at home. Our younger daughter (20) does not play tennis (she plays college field hockey) was impressed by the fitness room facilities. We all were empressed by the luxurious locker rooms. We will go back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ

Address: 9011 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topsl Beach and Racquet Club RQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.