We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Resort
548 Sandy Cay Drive, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Destin
overland park, ks
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value for Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We traveled with 3 kids that were 9 and under, and there was plenty of space for us. Beach access was a little farther than we thought, and we were without internet/phone service for half of our stay (4 stars for service), but other than that the pool was great, the room was great, and we look forward to going back to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hattiesburg, ms
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My wife, one year old, and I vacationed in Destin at the Beach Resort Condo Room 206, May 28th through June 4th. Both brother-in-laws and their wives also visited while we were there, and we had plenty of room to accomodate them in the condo as well. We had a great time and can’t wait to get back. We discovered this condo on Tripadvisor's new vaction rentals area and booked through VRBO.com but you can also view the room on beachcondosindestin.com. Be careful not to miss the turn-off to the resort from the Emerald Coast Parkway since there is only a small road sign on top of the stop sign denoting Sandy Cay Drive. The easiest way I found to recognize the turn-off is to look for the Sacred Heart Medical Group Sign which is in dark purple and easily seen from the Emerald Coast Parkway. Sandy Cay Drive is the 2nd turn to the right after the Sacred Heart Medical Group Sign. The condo is centrally located to everything. McDonald’s is about ½ mile down the Emerald Coast Parkway if you turn to the right, as well as a Burger King and Win Dixie grocery store about 4 miles in the same direction which puts you near the Baytowne Wharf shopping outlets and restaurants. The hotel is not more than three or four miles from the Mid Bay toll bridge turn-off which is right beside Wal-Mart, Bass Pro-shop, and the Destin Commons shopping outlet. All of which can be reached by turning left on to the Emerald Coast Parkway from Sandy Cay Drive. The condo was very clean and nicely decorated with a full kitchen, washer and dryer combo, free Wi-Fi, two televisions with cable, DVD player, stereo with cd, one bath with shower and one bathroom with a tub-shower combo. The condo consisted of one king bedroom, two full size bunk beds inset in the wall just off the main hall just outside the guest bathroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. The bunk beds supported adults quite easily. I believe every room in this resort has the same set-up with minor differences in furniture and decor. At $975 (1171.00 after taxes and cleaning fees) this condo was a steal for this time of year. I did see other units in this condo on vrbo.com that rented for much more than this, possibly due to upgrades in the unit or inclusion of the amenities card which offers discounts and free tickets to some of the area attractions. We were able to rent from Thursday to Thursday instead of the usual required Saturday to Saturday for most condos in the area, which was a plus for us. There is a 3000 sq. ft. zero entry pool with two halves. The smaller side felt heated. The zero entry pool was great for my one-year-old to play in. Both sides of the pool have parts that are 5 feet deep. There is a large hot tub beside the pool area, several lounge chairs around the pool, as well as patio chairs and tables in shaded areas around the pool. There is a large men and women’s bathroom in a separate building right by the pool. The pool area is just across the road from the beach. The private beach access is about 2 blocks down the road from the condo, but you can gain beach access through the open gate area just across from the condo and walk down to the condo’s private beach area that way if you so choose. Included in the rental, are two chairs and a beach umbrella for free. The pool area was never crowded with 6 -7 families at most using the pool at one time. The condo sleeps 6 easily. There were plenty of towels and blankets. Pots, pans, glasses, plates, blender, toaster, coffee maker, etc. were all present in the kitchen area as well as a small pantry by the refrigerator. There is a nice table which seats 6-8 people in the living area. You must use a parking pass on your dash to park in the parking lot just outside the room. There is a set of elevators that were kept very clean just outside our room. There are luggage dollies for your use located by the elevator on the bottom floor. The garbage chute beside the elevators was a nice extra too. Some of the condos have access to the gated parking garage under the condo, but this room did not. To get to the pool, just go to the parking garage on the elevator and then punch in the code on the gate to the pool area, which is opposite the elevators in the parking garage. Go through the pool area to the gate by the road and punch in the gate code to get out to the main road so you can walk down to the private beach area. The private beach area is not overcrowded and the water is crystal clear. The sand at the shoreline beneath the water is a little more lumpy than at other areas of the public beach so watch your step. Just make sure to be a little more sure-footed in the water. Overall, I think this condo would be great for anyone wanting a well-priced beach vacation in the heart of Destin. My family and I are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We just returned from our wonderful stay in Destin. We booked our condo at the Beach Resort through Newman Dailey Resort Properties. We are so glad that we went this route because they offered all kinds of extra perks such as free beach setup, free adult tickets to the Seablaster, free tickets to the Track and so on.

Our condo was BEAUTIFUL! The decor was just lovely. It was extremely clean and the owner had everything available that we would need right down to an ice cream maker! lol There was plenty of parking and the lot was never full. The pool was AWESOME! It's actually perfect for families with small children due to the fact that it's a zero entry pool. The deepest is 5ft. Even the restrooms outside of the pool were clean. The condo is located in a really nice area and next door to Kenny D's. The beach access is across the street and a few steps away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We have stayed at Beach Resort 2 times. The first time was sept 2007, and the second time was june 2008. We love that it is Small, Family friendly, close to the beach(the beach is right across the street), quiet, has a huge pool and a hot tub. That is just to name a few.

Most of the time we were the only people in the pool, so it was like we had the place to ourselves.

We love destin....& the Beach Resort....We plan to go back again this summer. (We have always booked through VRBO)

  • Liked — The Condo, The Pool & Hot Tub, THE BEACH!!!!!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Beach Hotel
Address: 548 Sandy Cay Drive, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beach Resort to your Saves list