We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destin on the Gulf

Save Saved
You added Destin on the Gulf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Destin on the Gulf
600 Gulf Shore Drive, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Waynesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my fourth trip to Destin and by far the best place that I have stayed at. We stayed in unit # 302. It was very comfortable. I will definitely be back to Destin on The Gulf! Next time I will try to get a unit a little higher. This unit is right above the pool so not a lot of privacy on the balcony.

Room Tip: The rooms that end in "7" have a better view and the lowest # are right above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here during my friends family reunion. We rented #503, a beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. I loved the fact that the owner had a boxed filled with games and puzzles and also left a Winn-Dixie Club Card in the cabinet so that we could get discounts when shopping for supplies...nice touch! All of the condo's face the ocean so everyone has a beachfront view. All areas were clean and well maintained. Property mgr was very nice and responsive, on day 2 we noticed our garbage disposal was clogged and someone came up and fixed the problem right away. Also, we flew into FL so we did not have beach chairs like the others who probably drove. The mgr was able to let us borrow chairs that were along the side of the building that were left by previous owners/vacationers which was nice. The pool area was lovely and the condo has its own entrance to the beach. Also small exercise facility which had all the basic exercise equipment.

Info on surrounding area: The condo is located on a road that is surrounded by homes and a few more condo developments which makes the area nice and calm. All of the shopping and eateries are all on Harbor Blvd, which intersects Gulf Shore Drive and is the main road, so there is not a lot of tourist traffic. This is great but I was glad we had a car rental because the FL sun would make walks up the road unbearable (Winn-Dixie, Target, CVS are in the near vicinity on Harbor Blvd).
The beach is pristine with clear water and white sands. You can actually see fish swimming!

Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We visit Destin frequently for shopping and short holidays. We have stayed all over the region, and "Destin on the Gulf" is the overall best place we have found. A smaller condo building in downtown Destin, right on the water, the building is minutes from great shopping and restaurants and has amazing views of the Gulf of Mexico as well as Destin's beach curving away to the East. John Butler is particularly dedicated to customer service, and is ready to go the extra mile for his guests. The condos have two bedrooms, one with panoramic Gulf views and the other overlooking the city of Destin, and two full baths as well. Units ending in "7" have a west-facing window in the dining area, providing the best views. Convenient, affordable, and well managed--overall a great value and a wonderful way to relax in Destin!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed in unit #702 which was perfect. We arrived early and the people at Resort Quest let us check in early (which never happens) it was great. The unit had a fantastic view of the ocean from the balcony & the bedroom window! The beach was right out front. We didn't use the pool, but it also looked very nice. Two charcoal grills can be used outside by anyone staying which is a nice addition.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Destin on the Gulf is the greatest place to stay in Destin. You get a free round of golf every day, free deep sea fishing, free tickets/mini golf at The Track just for staying there. It's really affordable and the condos are nice. It's typically a pretty laid-back quiet place as well. It also is next to a bunch of houses with large property to the left so there isn't too much crowding on the beach because you can expand that way.

The only downfall is that this area of the beach, due to hurricanes, global warming, etc. are diminishing and in a few years there may not be much beach to speak of, such as the Jetty East which is just a few resorts down from D on the G.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destin on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin on the Gulf

Address: 600 Gulf Shore Drive, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin on the Gulf Condominiums are nestled directly on the sugar white beaches of Destin Florida, the ideal destination for you next vacation. Our central location offers easy access to Destin's many recreational facilities and entertainment, including dining, fishing, boat cruises, water sport, and golfing. We are currently managed by Emerald Coast Vacation Rentals (ECVR) which offers free fishing, golf & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Destin on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin On The Gulf Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.