We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing Grade, but not by much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club
Save
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club to your Saves list
120 Boulevard, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Passing Grade, but not by much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Of the five time-shares we've stayed in in the past year, this one was our least favorite. The one bedroom unit was generally clean, although the kitchen floor was a bit sticky. The furnishings were good, but because we were in one of the somewhat smaller units, the living room furniture was all jammed together. Local channels on the living room TV were fuzzy, but fine in the bedroom. The early morning deliveries by the food service vendors required their trucks to back up (complete with beeping signal, diesel noise and fumes) down a driveway right below the bay-view units. The pluses were: very nice grounds with lots of walking paths, four golf courses on-site, and being in Destin.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shunga65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

BEWARE: A family member signed up for a Wyndham vacation club resort promotion "aka a timeshare pitch to a captive potential couple". The resort reps aka sales people promised accomodations that just do not exist. Also deceitful by verbal omission of numerous small print fees and changes allowed by them, once you send your deposit. What a shame Wyndham allows such practices...their properties have great amenities and people...they don't need the hard sales pitch...Marriott was smart to purge/ restructure their vacation club/ timeshares.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
31 Thank Educator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This was actually my first time staying at the Bay Club I resort.. I was definitely not pleased at all. The furniture was outdated and torn/worn out in several places. We didnt use the master bath jacuzzi because it did not look clean at all,there was also mold around the jets (nasty). We brought our food and to our dismay when we went to reuse the boxed items there were ants in it (yuck). They definitely need to invest in pest/insect control. We even called down to the front desk but they were closed then but the machine asked for us to press "0" and leave a message and someone will get back to us....NEVER HAPPENED!!!!!!. The only good part about our trip was the tram and visiting the "Village" it was beautiful and Fat Tuesday's has the best margeritas and they're very affordable, the beach was also very accommadating. But neither one of our enjoyments had anything to do with Bay Club I. This is a mistake i will never make again,especially because i thought i had reserved a condo at Bay Club II,which i have not heard anything bad about them. BEWARE: DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE, IF YOU ARE GOING TO STAY SOMEWHERE MAKE SURE IT IS AT BAY CLUB II, because at Bay Club the ants,mold and worn out furniture is not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shybooshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We just got back from a week at Bay Club in Sandestin. This is the third time we have stayed there. We had a two-bedroom unit that has been updated with new kitchen appliances, updated furniture, and a newer television. Everything was quite comfortable and clean. The only negatives were a problem with the dishwasher that caused some of the soap to cake up (I reported it to the front desk on checkout and they said they would have it checked.) and the pocket doors for the bathrooms that are not easy to use. As always, the grounds at Sandestin our outstanding. We always rent bikes and ride to the beach and to other areas in this huge resort. It is so bicycle friendly! While we're not on the beach, we love being in Sandestin and always have a great time.

  • Liked — The grounds at Sandestin including the bike paths.
  • Disliked — The pocket doors in the bathrooms.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MadisonPreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

The Bay Club is a wonderful resort. The staff is helpful and if you have any problem they will make sure they fix it right away. My kids love feeding th goldfish in the lobby and the place is super clean! The pools at Sandestin Resort are not heated - not just Bay Club. The shuttle is prompt. The beds are comfortable. This is a great place for families and couples to make memories!

  • Liked — security and clean
  • Disliked — no heated pool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Do Not confuse this with Wyndham Bay Club II. That is a wonderful place to stay. Bay Club is right next door and you would have thought you were in a slum compared to Bay Club II. NO JOKE. I am a serious traveler and check Tripadvisor reviews for every trip. Please believe me when I tell you this place is filthy. The carpeting is so dirty that you don't even want to walk barefoot on it. It has holes and is just down right gross! The kitchen was not the cleanest either. The bathroom shower did have a little mold, but in this place that was expected. The guest bedroom's tv power button looked like someone kicked it in and the master bedroom remote just didn't work. Lights burned out over bathroom vanity. On a Sunday morning at 5 a.m . we were awakened by the workers (no offense but all migrant) slamming stuff around outside and talking very loudly. Now, this is Sunday at 5 a.m........we were there for a little R & R. The place did have nice little washers and dryers on every floor (moldy smelling but okay). Also, one good thing is they give you a set of clean towels everyday. The tram service to areas on the resort are really nice as well as the pools. The Village at Baytowne of Sandestin is so very expensive, look out! Now for places to eat, please do not get caught up in the tourist attraction FUDPUCKERS. If you want to see the alligators, just go in and look. The food is not the best and is so very pricey for what you get. Eat at the LUCKY SNAPPER for good food or go to BUSTERS for some good oysters! I love Sandestin but it will be a while before I ever go back.especially if I have the only choice of staying at Bay Club. I won't ever stay there again. Try Bay Club II or Majestic Sun. Both Wyndham resorts.

  • Liked — Nothing, just down right crummy dirty!
  • Disliked — The filthy carpets and stained bed spreads.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank kimmysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

Very nice resort, and the bay club puts you right in the middle of it at the bay. The room was nice and clean. It's not the ritz, but if you want a decent place to stay near all the activity and shopping, and not pay an arm and a leg for it, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optom2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach
4.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Enclave Condos
#53 of 57 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
3.5 mi away
Bay Club of Sandestin
Bay Club of Sandestin
#18 of 57 in Destin
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gulf Winds East
Gulf Winds East
#21 of 57 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club

Address: 120 Boulevard, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing